Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My mom has made these cookies every Christmas since I can remember and they've always been my favorite! Her original recipe came from a 1980 Parenting magazine and instead of rolling the hot cookies in the crushed candy cane, we've always mixed a little bit of water with confectioner's sugar and brushed it on the tops of the cooled cookies and then rolled them in the crushed candy cane. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These cookies are delicious... I really liked the crushed candy cane bits on top... though, I had a little trouble getting it to stick... even hot out of the oven... but if you put it on before they go in the oven, the will melt. If you are looking for a quicker method of making these cookies... I got tired of rolling out all the pieces towards the end of my baking, so I made one big log out of the two colors and put it in the freezer for about 15 minutes... then I cut off slices of the dough and baked them... they looked beautiful, and tasted just as good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
These are really good. I'd add at least 1 tsp of peppermint extract though. I crushed some candy canes and put them in with the red dough and only put sugar on top and I prefer them that way, the candy canes can be a bit sticky on top. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I have 2 little girls, now ages 7 and 8. I found this recipe on this site 2 years ago. I was so flattered when we started talking about Christmas baking... my girls wanted to know if we would be making the candy cane cookies. They enjoy creating this cookie, it's easy and fun to make...not to mention tasty! I want to thank you for sharing this recipe with us and allowing me to start my "own" little Christmas tradition with my daughters. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I added an extra 1/2 tsp of peppermint per the advise of another reviewer and it was wonderful! I had my mom taste them to make sure they tasted like hers and she loved them!! They were very delicate to take of the cookie sheet once out of the oven, probaly a good idea to let them cool first. I will definetly make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONBONGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
A Christmas cookie tray is incomplete without these! I always double the recipe. I make one recipe of plain dough and refrigerate it. Using the mixing bowl "as is" (without washing) I then mix up a full recipe of red dough. I just set the hot baked cookies up-side-down in sugar. Added some extra peppermint flavoring to make up for the missing crushed candy canes. Not worth the hassle. No one even noticed! I make these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yutan, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Just like my mom's cookies! I replaced the peppermint flavor with almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are very mild but tasty. They look great with an assortment on a tray...adds color and variety. I made green and white, red and white, and red and green. My kids really liked them. The hardest part was crushing the candy canes. I also used a full tsp. of peppermint extract...1/2 tsp. would not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is AMAZING. Today was the first time I had ever made candy cane cookies and this recipe was absolutely perfect. I didn't need to change a thing. They are delicious and look great. The sugar on top really makes them stand out! GREAT recipe, I will be making a few more batches of these before Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Stall Thorpe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are a holiday tradition at our house. I use butter instead of margarine and a full tsp of peppermint extract to increase the flavor. I also use gel food coloring so the red dough isn't so moist that you can't work with it. I also divide the dough and color half BEFORE I chill it in the fridge. Much easier. I also find it easier not to roll the hot cookies but instead sprinkle the candy on the top with a spoon when they are hot. The candy sticks really well if you do it that way and the cookies don't break. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States