Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was only able to make about 2 pans worth of cookies out of this recipe (about 20 cookies). I guess I do like my cookies big! I have used this recipe before but it didn't have the candy toping. I couldn't get the candy to stay on top of the cookies at first. But as soon as the cookies cooled the candy stayed. I also added 1 teaspoon of peppermint extract. I feel like it could have used another 1/2 a teaspoon. Other than my issues with it this was a great recipe. My daughter and husband made sure they were gone by the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've baked these for years. I use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkview, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is the best base for a sugar cookie recipe. Mix the coloring when the dough is fresh, it's easier (for the other reviewer). I did increase the peppermint to 1 tsp and using a "hand chopper like Pampered Chef to chop the candy is much easier. I used round hard peppermints instead of candy canes (easier to unwrap and find). The dough does chill fast, I only had it in the frig for 2 hours, but taking small balls in your hands and rolling them around quickly form logs. I LOVED this recipe and am going to experiment with other colors and candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Although I love to bake, I admit that making "pretty" cookies is not my strength. From the reviews I read I expected this recipe to be easy. I had some unexpected difficulties. I originally planned for my children and their friends to make these one night. I crushed the candy canes (opening them all was a time consuming chore!), used my food processor to crush them and left them in a cup for later when we made the cookies. Big mistake! The crushed crumbs all gelled together. They were unusable. I discovered this when we were about to make the cookies. The dough had chilled a little over an hour. I decided to wait until the next morning to make them. "At least" an hour for the chilling had an upper limit I learned. In the morning the dough was hard as a rock, and I simply couldn't use it. Later, when I could use the dough I had trouble mixing the red food coloring in with the hard dough. I think it would have been easier to divide the dough and mix the food coloring in before chilling it. For some reason, when I formed the cookies the uncolored dough was very crumbly. The red dough was not. The really didn't look very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My brother asks for these cookies every year. I have tried many different recipes in the past, but they were always too dry to form the candy canes. This is the best recipe I have found and will use for years to come! I did increase the peppermint extract to 1 tsp and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
It tasted like heaven when I bit into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My mom has made these cookies every Christmas since I can remember and they've always been my favorite! Her original recipe came from a 1980 Parenting magazine and instead of rolling the hot cookies in the crushed candy cane, we've always mixed a little bit of water with confectioner's sugar and brushed it on the tops of the cooled cookies and then rolled them in the crushed candy cane. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were awesome! They tasted exactly like the ones my aunt used to make every Christmas. Thanks for helping me rediscover a Christmas memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought these were good but needed more peppermint flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These were great. Not else much to say. I followed the recipe and they came out delicious and just as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States