Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These turned out beautifully, but I had a couple issues with the directions. As someone else commented, the sugar/candy can mix doesn't stick well ... I smeared it on which worked OK but was really messy ... I might try spritzing them with something kinda stick and sprinkling next time. Also ... I played with the size and thickness of the 'ropes' a lot. The cutest ones had pretty narrow short ropes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Fabulous! We added the crushed peppermint candy canes to the red dough instead of putting it on top - did not use the white sugar for decoration but might consider it next time. Peppermint flavoring is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were so tasty and easy to make! What a fun idea. We just used our regular sugar cookie recipe since we made a huge batch of those as well, and colored some of it red to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies did not turn out well. The dough was very sticky. It was impossible to roll out or twist up. I tried several different ways of handliing the dough to make the canes, and nothing worked. After a few different attempts, I ended up just making drop cookies instead. Also, rolling the cookies in the sugar after baking didn't work. Nothing really sticks to them. Also, the recipe wasn't specific about how thick to make the ropes. They tasted alright. Not very sweet or very minty though. I'm not sure what might have gone wrong, but these cookies were a definite flop for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devancaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corydon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this dough so I could help my 4 yr old make some cookies. I made them exactly as in the recipe and my dough wouldn't form ropes long enough to make canes. Since it was already made I rolled it out and he made cut out cookies instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike and Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent! Just put the dough in the fridge for a while and they are easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies came out pretty good! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kouts, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These are ok but I agree with some other reviews that they really aren't worth the time they take to make. I don't understand why some folks give it a 4 or 5 star rating but then also list about 10 adjustments they made to the recipe. IMO, they are no longer reviewing this recipe so it skews the overall rating. If you do make these, I would suggest not using the crushed candycane/sugar coating. They're much prettier left alone. These cookies are pretty on a cookie tray but I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerstin
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
My mom made me these with a small variation ever since I can remember. I tried this recipe and it tasted the same as hers. MAKE SURE YOU CHILL THE DOUGH BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO ROLL INTO BALLS AND ROPES!! I used full teaspoon of peppermint and also crushed candy canes in the red dough. These just remind me of childhood. My hubs does not care for these as he thinks they taste like flour, I will admit they aren't overly favorful or sweet but thats what makes them good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
these were AWESOME! they look and taste amazing. totally recommend! although i did ad 1 full tsp of peppermint! all around good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States