Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
love this recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were vile. I couldn't even get my 4 kids to eat them, they just went into the trash. They tasted like mouthwash. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
good needs more peppermint flavorI ill add 2 tps next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My toddler and I were so excited to make these and when they finally came out--they were awful...I debated about adding the peppermint extract and I did...and they were not sweet and all I could taste was mint. They were too thick and cake-like. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. One problem was that the dough was very dry, so i added close to a cup of milk to get it into a more doughlike consistency. i didn't measoure it out, i just eyeballed it. the dough itself was quite quick, it was just the rolling out and twitsing. i found that if you place the two coloured strips side by side, with the edges touching in a straight line, then roll each end in the opposite direction, it the twist comes out perfect. i also squished the sides so the spirals didn't puff up like the picture. The first time i made them, i found that there wasn't enough peppermint flavour, so the next time, i doubled what the recipe called for. the flavour was faint, and my husband couldn't taste it, but i could. i suggest using 1 and a half teaspoons. These cookies are very good, with a few minor tweaks. i have a very big family, and they demand i bring them to our annual christmas dinner. the kids also love helping out, although they need to be a little older. you can even hang them on your tree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MICHISBABY
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this recipe on Sunday night for my son's class and the cookies came out good. The dough needed to be put in the fridge longer than an hour though to be handled, and even then I had to use a little at a time and keep the rest chilled while rolling out the cookies. It was a little tricky rolling them out, but for a first attempt, they came out good. I wanted to make them again today for my daughter's class, and I made everything the same except I used Country Crock Margarine instead of "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" sticks. The dough never really set up enough to roll out candy canes, and it was kind of greasy. I think this was because of the change in margarine types. To compensate I added a little more flour and this made the cookies come out more like a scone flavor. Instead of making candy canes I rolled thin strips of red, green and plain dough together and twisted them by rolling each end in opposite directions and spinning my cutting board around. This made a long think candy cane which would be fun to cook as is, but I cut them into small rectangles to look almost like pillow candy. Overall they came out okay..I will definately use "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" again the next time though. It needs something else though too to sweeten the bland flavor of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHISBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Marlborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Once again I tried to make candy cane cookies and once again failed. The dough would not cooperate! As soon as I started to roll the ropes the dough fell apart because the heat from my hands made it unworkable. Argh. I just made red and white drop cookies, so they are edible. Too much work to do again. 3 stars because the cookies themselves are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these last night. Upon taste testing the dough, I was instantly thrown back to my childhood. Yes, this is exactly how I remember them. I am so happy and I will be making more of these soon. The batch does not make as the recipe says but that's okay. I rather have "real size" candy cane cookies than tiny bite sized ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I love these cookies and have made them for years. I lost the recipe and was so glad to find it here! What I like best about these cookies is that they have a very mild mint flavor. If you are looking for a stronger flavor you should double the amount of peppermint extract, but I find they are perfect as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth from Atlanta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These turned out very pretty. The only changes I made was to increase the peppermint extract. I found them a bit too soft to roll in the sugar so I waited till they cooled and brushed them with milk and confectioners sugar. The sugar mixture stuck well. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States