Candy Cane Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These tasted okay and were hard to roll out and keep their form but they are a fun Christmas cookie to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by sammyxgoose
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this recipe the other day, and they are very good ! I found the dough way too soft (even after chilling) to make into ropes and roll into candy came shapes . So instead, I made 'candy cane swirls' . I rolled out the white dough, and the red dough and put it on top of each other . (Think cinnamon roll, but instead of cinnamon and sugar i put the red sheet of dough on top) . I rolled it using wax paper (awesome tip-google it!) and sliced into rounds and flattened slightly . When they came out of the oven I put the crushed candy canes on top, but they wouldn't stick :( I found that the mint flavor was slightly underwhelming, so we drizzled with a tiny bit of glaze with a drop of mint extract . Yum! Next time we make this I will increase mint extract in dough by 1/4 tsp, brush glaze over top of rounds and sprinkle candy canes over so they will stick better . Overall, very good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My son requests candy cane cookes every year! Since he is the only one tat likes them, I allowed him to review these: excellent flavor, light and, well....perfection! So there you have it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Christmas recipe that is awesome to do with the kiddos!! These are super fun to have them make for their parents at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very good recipe. The peppermint flavor wasn't overpowering. Will definitely make again. The only thing I modified was adding another color (green) to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Tastes yummy but mine were not as pretty as the pictures!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These cookies are so hard to make and quite honestly don't have much taste to them. Definitely not worth the work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My boys (8 and 10) tried this recipe today. They love to make the candy canes. Unfortunately the dough was so floppy it was very hard to roll into the candy canes. I debated on if I should use butter in sted of margarine. I think that was the key. Butter would have firmed up in the frig better. Tasted okay. But not fun to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made 1/2 of this recipe and it was fantastic. However, I didn't have peppermint extract, or almond extract, so I used 5 Santa's Treats mini candy canes for the dough. I also used 5 of the same candy canes for the sugar mixture. The dough will taste sort of like candy canes, but will have dough taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States