Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I was hoping these would be the cookies I remembered from childhood. Bland and SUPER SALTY! Our family doesn't eat much salt so our taste buds are sensitive, but a cookie shouldn't be THAT salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Tasted just liked I hoped it would. The dough is a bit of a pain to deal with, as it cracks a lot when you are trying to shape it. But, with special care these turn out delightful. Mine made 16 fat candy canes. Make sure you let them cool about 5-10 minutes on cookie sheet otherwise they will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I chose this recipe out of the three becuase it had the best rating. I don't know what I did different from the others, but the dough was terrible! Sticky and flimsy. Very difficult to roll or work with. I tried to chill it for a half hour, but it was usless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Every year I make these cookies for my sisters, work, school, home, everywhere and people beg for the recipe but I won't tell. The cookies are delicious and i love to eat them. plus they are fun to make with my little sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I found it easier to divide both the red and white dough balls into 8 parts each, then roll one of each color into a log, and cut each log into a number of parts (about a dozen...depends on the exact size you want the cookies to be), then work with those little nuggets of dough as you need them. Also, after giving the two ropes a twist, I gave 'em another roll, so they were a single stripped stick, and came out more like a candy cane. You can also substitute the almond extra with peppermint, as many people aren't expecting them to be almond flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years and have had NO problems with it except it takes time. I roll out long (2 1/2 foot) lengths of each color then cut to the size I want. Do not use too much flour to do this or the colors will not stick together when you roll them together and twist. Use just enough to keep it from sticking to you or the counter. If you have trouble rolling them or they break easily when removed from the pan, make smaller ones. You decide the length when you cut them. After reading some later comments on these cookies, I felt a need to comment on eggs and butter. Whenever you bake the size of egg you use can make a BIG difference as well as butter vs margarine. Margarine has water in it which alters the recipe. Eggs, I generally use extra large (Costco eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe was the same one my mom used to make with me and my three sisters when we were little. It brought back so many memories making them with my children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very difficult to work with. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is the recipe my mom and I used as a child. We had lost it and tried to replicate it, but it was never quite the same. My father and brother start nagging me in October to make candy canes for Christmas. Making the canes is a little labor intensive, but everyone loves them. I've also rolled them and made cut cookies (which Dad and brother don't like as well), and I've made part of the dough green to make wreaths. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
These cookies are the same ones my Mom used to make for my sister and me. They were always my holiday favorites. The almond extract adds a great flavor and the dough is easy to handle if you roll it with your hands into thin strips. No sugar or candy coating necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States