Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Try using peppermint flavoring instead of the vanilla and almond extract. I roll the candy cane in crushed candy canes BEFORE BAKING. You have to use parchment paper, otherwise the candy cane will stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've made these cookies for over 20 yrs and never had a problem with dry dough, in fact I just made a batch last week and they were on the moist side so I rolled them in the icing sugar sugar instead of flour. An easier way to put them together is to roll each rope out then lay them side by side and rather than pinch them together, roll them together, holding one end gently and they twist together very nicely. My grown kids love them and expect them at this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These taste just like my mom use to make whn I was a kid. The only diffence is we put crushed pepermint sticks in the dough before cooking. Yummy brings back memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are the same that my mom has been making for 40 + years! The complaints on here are the same ones I've been hearing from her for at least 35 years (LOL). I agree, the size of egg AND shortening make a HUGE difference in how the dough comes out. The dough tends to be a bit on the dry side -- use extra large or large eggs and the dough will be easier work and shouldn't crack so much. I moved to Ohio 10 years ago and mom has tried shipping them to me (they don't withstand the postal service too well), a few years back she just started rolling the dough out and cutting it like a sugar cookie -- they are much more durable and still taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
If you weigh your ingredients, you'll have better luck. These cookies in particular change drastically in rolling texture with slight flour differences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been making these cookies since I was a little girl. My family has made a couple changes to the recipe through the years though. First, if you are having problems with the cookies breaking, use regular white sugar instead of the confectioners' in the recipe. It still yields a delicious delicate cookie, but the regular sugar makes a cookie just slightly chewy and alot stronger. I have never had them fall apart after doing this. Secondly, we never coat them in crushed candy canes. I don't feel that peppermint and almond extract really go together. We instead coat our candy canes with confectioners' sugar before serving. It just adds a little something extra and gives a nice presentation. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The dough for these is so dry that they are impossible to twist together without it taking forever. Even if you do finally succeed, most of them break after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I was used to them with a mint flavor instead of almond, so I used vanilla and peppermint (no almond) extract and substituted granulated sugar for powdered. The consistency of the dough seemed fine and the two colors twisted together as expected. I sprayed the pan with non-stick spray before baking and had no cookies brake when removing them from the pan. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selene K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nenana, Alaska, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The trick to getting this dough right is Butter Flavored Crisco. Use 1 cup (at room temperature) and the dough will hold while you are rolling the ropes. The dough will be like playdoh. The original Bettery Crocker recipe says to omit salf if you are using all purpose flour. I sprinkle sugar on the tops of these before baking and undercook by a minute. I also use 2 teasp almond extract and no vanilla extract. They are a big hit with the kids. Plan on some extra time to preare these, but the ohhs and ahhhs are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
My old neighbors used to make these every year growing up and it has been years since I've had them. They tasted exactly as I remember, however I had a difficult time with the dough. The first set I twisted into candy cane-shape were ok, but the dough became brittle and dry after just sitting on the countertop for a few minutes. I tried added droplets of water, which helped minimally, so all the cookies came out a little deformed looking. Tasted great though! Also may consider not using food dye next time and using an organic/natural icing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States