Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
the dough was very hard to work with and the cookies had virtually no flavor. it would probably be easier to attempt with sugar cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nina_rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hoxie, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The flavor is ok, but the dough is impossible to work with. I am using no flour to roll these and it still just falls apart. I wish i would have read more of the other reviews and tried the granulated sugar instead. There are alot of good cookie recipes out there, i doubt I will ever try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monticello, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
If u chill the dough for 20 mins it handles great :) learned that form sugar cookies and snowballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a complete mess. I tried to make the dough and it was so sticky..Couldn't shape it. Couldn't add flour because the flavor was blan enough, and I even added more vanilla and some almond extract. Tried to make more dough and let it sit over night in the refrigerator..still a complete mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought these were good and not that difficult to make though not easy. I used peppermint extract instead of almond because that's what I had on hand. Nice flavor. I will probably make these again next Christmas. They're very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The taste is fantastic, what I remember from childhood, however this dough was not in any shape to be rolled, I had to make a drop cookie. But that's OK, I just did half red and half green, and put them side by side on the cookie sheet to make one whole cookie, and they looked fine. Just have to call them something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
we have the dough in the fridge now, followed all reviewers suggestions and it still broke/cracked all over when we tried to roll and form the canes. It was very frustrating for my son. The few we baked did taste great, no matter the shape...but still....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great butter tasting cookie. Altho I did have to make a few changes only because I didn't have two of the ingredients. I used regular white sugar and used all vanilla extract.. because I did not have these ingredients on hand when I wanted to bake. They came out great and the dough was quite easy to work with. I just put a tiny amount of flour on my hands each time I rolled one and it never was sticky. Also, when rolling roll think and twist a lot of times so the cookies don't come too fat and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LittleMissChef
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
When I looked at the picture of these cookies, I went "Wow, they look awesome". After a frustrating half-hour of trying to get the crumbly dough into something that slightly resembled a candy cane, I gave up and made them into spirals. The red dough was almost useable but the 'white' was crumblier than shortbread dough! I won't be using this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
My mom has made this recipe from the Betty Crocker Cook Book for years! We add more powder sugar and about 2 tablespoons of milk. We also use peppermint extract instead of the almond. If you are having problems rolling. Try using a floured pillow case. It is a very delicate cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States