Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe, same as I have used for years. I use all butter flavored shortening, total of 1 cup. Also to form my cookies I take about 1 measuring teaspoon of red and 1 of white and roll together to make a ball. I then place the ball with either the white side or red side down on an un-floured cutting board and begin to roll out into about a 4 inch "rope." As I roll I press lightly with my fingers moving up on one end and down on the other. (be gentle!) I made a video on FB for some of my friends to see how to do this. When you roll the ball out into a rope this way it makes the Candy Cane lines. Move the "rope" over to the cookie sheet, (use parchment paper!) turn one end to make the candy cane hook as you place it. The reason some people are getting cracking when trying to form the cookie is that the dough is drying out. It should always be about the consistency of play dough. If you start having trouble drop a little water in to maintain consistency. I find the red dough seems to dry out quicker than the white. It is best to make all of the cookies the same size. If you do not you will have some come out a little over cooked. These cookies are labor intensive! You have to make them with love. They are my signature cookie every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
these were very good but hard to make a good shape in my house they went very fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
It seems like an amazing recipe and I can't wait to make it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graciecake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I saw a recipe similar to this, to help with the dough rolling sprinkle some flour onto the board. I also used butter instead of margarine, it gives it more of a buttery flavor. I did not find the need to grease the cookie sheet, use the non stick kind instead. Hope this info helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the same recipe my family has been using from as far back as I can remember. Wonderful. A Christmas favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family loves these!! To make the dough easier to work with I wrap each color dough ball in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour or until the dough is firm. I am making these for Valentine's Day this year so I am coloring all the dough red and rolling the dough out and cutting out hearts and decorating them with cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are my husbands favorite cookie. They are a bit of a pain to make but they are super cute and tasty. This recipe is missing the sugar/crushed peppermint topping though which is the key part of the cookie! Just mix equal parts sugar with finely crushed peppermints or candy canes. Top when the cookies are JUST out of the oven. If you are having problems with the topping not sticking, brush the cookies with a little corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcole63301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Not completely impressed. Swelled up to look pretty ugly in the oven. The kids didn't eat any of them, the flavor was pretty blah. I'd rather color regular sugar cookie dough and twist into candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWifeMomNurseAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe is verbatim from the old Betty Crocker cook book. The presentation of this cookie was always better then the taste. IMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I've been making these cookies since my kids were very small. It has always been one of their favorites. I now make them for my great-grandkids. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because it is very time consuming and takes a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States