Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been making these cookies since I was a little girl. My family has made a couple changes to the recipe through the years though. First, if you are having problems with the cookies breaking, use regular white sugar instead of the confectioners' in the recipe. It still yields a delicious delicate cookie, but the regular sugar makes a cookie just slightly chewy and alot stronger. I have never had them fall apart after doing this. Secondly, we never coat them in crushed candy canes. I don't feel that peppermint and almond extract really go together. We instead coat our candy canes with confectioners' sugar before serving. It just adds a little something extra and gives a nice presentation. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
These cookies are the same ones my Mom used to make for my sister and me. They were always my holiday favorites. The almond extract adds a great flavor and the dough is easy to handle if you roll it with your hands into thin strips. No sugar or candy coating necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Every year I make these cookies for my sisters, work, school, home, everywhere and people beg for the recipe but I won't tell. The cookies are delicious and i love to eat them. plus they are fun to make with my little sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years and have had NO problems with it except it takes time. I roll out long (2 1/2 foot) lengths of each color then cut to the size I want. Do not use too much flour to do this or the colors will not stick together when you roll them together and twist. Use just enough to keep it from sticking to you or the counter. If you have trouble rolling them or they break easily when removed from the pan, make smaller ones. You decide the length when you cut them. After reading some later comments on these cookies, I felt a need to comment on eggs and butter. Whenever you bake the size of egg you use can make a BIG difference as well as butter vs margarine. Margarine has water in it which alters the recipe. Eggs, I generally use extra large (Costco eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe was the same one my mom used to make with me and my three sisters when we were little. It brought back so many memories making them with my children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is the recipe my mom and I used as a child. We had lost it and tried to replicate it, but it was never quite the same. My father and brother start nagging me in October to make candy canes for Christmas. Making the canes is a little labor intensive, but everyone loves them. I've also rolled them and made cut cookies (which Dad and brother don't like as well), and I've made part of the dough green to make wreaths. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are the same that my mom has been making for 40 + years! The complaints on here are the same ones I've been hearing from her for at least 35 years (LOL). I agree, the size of egg AND shortening make a HUGE difference in how the dough comes out. The dough tends to be a bit on the dry side -- use extra large or large eggs and the dough will be easier work and shouldn't crack so much. I moved to Ohio 10 years ago and mom has tried shipping them to me (they don't withstand the postal service too well), a few years back she just started rolling the dough out and cutting it like a sugar cookie -- they are much more durable and still taste GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
I made this with kids age 4, 3, and 2. They enjoyed helping, but didn't want to stick with the candy cane shape. I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Tasted just liked I hoped it would. The dough is a bit of a pain to deal with, as it cracks a lot when you are trying to shape it. But, with special care these turn out delightful. Mine made 16 fat candy canes. Make sure you let them cool about 5-10 minutes on cookie sheet otherwise they will break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
If you weigh your ingredients, you'll have better luck. These cookies in particular change drastically in rolling texture with slight flour differences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States