Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
I made this with kids age 4, 3, and 2. They enjoyed helping, but didn't want to stick with the candy cane shape. I would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
YUK!! Not a very good flavor, and worst of all is that the dough is extremely horrible to handle. The dough kept cracking as I rolled it into shape. I tried rolling the dough with a rolling pin to do something else with it and it didn't roll with a pin well. I wound up making 12 candy canes and threw the rest of the dough out! By far the worst dough I have ever had the misfortune of handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
These cookies are the same ones my Mom used to make for my sister and me. They were always my holiday favorites. The almond extract adds a great flavor and the dough is easy to handle if you roll it with your hands into thin strips. No sugar or candy coating necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is the recipe my mom and I used as a child. We had lost it and tried to replicate it, but it was never quite the same. My father and brother start nagging me in October to make candy canes for Christmas. Making the canes is a little labor intensive, but everyone loves them. I've also rolled them and made cut cookies (which Dad and brother don't like as well), and I've made part of the dough green to make wreaths. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very difficult to work with. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe was the same one my mom used to make with me and my three sisters when we were little. It brought back so many memories making them with my children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I have been making this recipe for over 30 years and have had NO problems with it except it takes time. I roll out long (2 1/2 foot) lengths of each color then cut to the size I want. Do not use too much flour to do this or the colors will not stick together when you roll them together and twist. Use just enough to keep it from sticking to you or the counter. If you have trouble rolling them or they break easily when removed from the pan, make smaller ones. You decide the length when you cut them. After reading some later comments on these cookies, I felt a need to comment on eggs and butter. Whenever you bake the size of egg you use can make a BIG difference as well as butter vs margarine. Margarine has water in it which alters the recipe. Eggs, I generally use extra large (Costco eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I found it easier to divide both the red and white dough balls into 8 parts each, then roll one of each color into a log, and cut each log into a number of parts (about a dozen...depends on the exact size you want the cookies to be), then work with those little nuggets of dough as you need them. Also, after giving the two ropes a twist, I gave 'em another roll, so they were a single stripped stick, and came out more like a candy cane. You can also substitute the almond extra with peppermint, as many people aren't expecting them to be almond flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Every year I make these cookies for my sisters, work, school, home, everywhere and people beg for the recipe but I won't tell. The cookies are delicious and i love to eat them. plus they are fun to make with my little sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I chose this recipe out of the three becuase it had the best rating. I don't know what I did different from the others, but the dough was terrible! Sticky and flimsy. Very difficult to roll or work with. I tried to chill it for a half hour, but it was usless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States