Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Instead of shortening I used butter, which tasted nicely. The cookie was a hit and I added a peppermint extract to seem more like a candy cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved the idea of having two colors twisted together with this cookie. I will add less salt next time as these were WAY too salty for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I thought these cookies came out tasting very "almondy", but the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
the dough was very hard to work with and the cookies had virtually no flavor. it would probably be easier to attempt with sugar cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nina_rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hoxie, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The flavor is ok, but the dough is impossible to work with. I am using no flour to roll these and it still just falls apart. I wish i would have read more of the other reviews and tried the granulated sugar instead. There are alot of good cookie recipes out there, i doubt I will ever try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monticello, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
If u chill the dough for 20 mins it handles great :) learned that form sugar cookies and snowballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a complete mess. I tried to make the dough and it was so sticky..Couldn't shape it. Couldn't add flour because the flavor was blan enough, and I even added more vanilla and some almond extract. Tried to make more dough and let it sit over night in the refrigerator..still a complete mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought these were good and not that difficult to make though not easy. I used peppermint extract instead of almond because that's what I had on hand. Nice flavor. I will probably make these again next Christmas. They're very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The taste is fantastic, what I remember from childhood, however this dough was not in any shape to be rolled, I had to make a drop cookie. But that's OK, I just did half red and half green, and put them side by side on the cookie sheet to make one whole cookie, and they looked fine. Just have to call them something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
we have the dough in the fridge now, followed all reviewers suggestions and it still broke/cracked all over when we tried to roll and form the canes. It was very frustrating for my son. The few we baked did taste great, no matter the shape...but still....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States