Candy Cane Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I was not really impressed with these. I made them according to the recipe and they did not really taste like anything. They were also hard to roll and work with. The kids ended up combining the dough to make regular round cookies that looked like Christmas balls. Candy Cane Cookies II worked out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Batmanda86

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Making these cookies drove me crazy. I even tried all the tips, but the dough breaks up too easily. I'll stick to other cookie recipes in the future. The taste of the dough is good though. We preferred almond and not the alternate suggestions of peppermint flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Use to make these as a kid. Dough was really hard to work with, kept cracking. And after baking they were hard. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Difficult dough to work with. Cracked constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
after reading all the reviews with the problems of breakage I decided since this recipe was so close to the spooky witches fingers recipe, which I had no problems with, I'd adopt the differences between the two recipes here. I didn't want to use shortening so I used all butter, but added the tsp of baking powder and cooked at 325 for 15 min. They were perfect. No breakage and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was a tasteless cookie, the dough was hard to manipulate and when cooked crumbled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley, Utah, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The ONLY reason I am not giving these 1 star is because they are pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These are just terrible! I thought they would be a cute addition to my Christmas cookie tray but what a disaster. Both my husband and I spend over an hour trying to get the two colours to twist and look semi presentable but it never worked out right! They tasted just okay but were not at all worth the time and effort they took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
did not like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Instead of shortening I used butter, which tasted nicely. The cookie was a hit and I added a peppermint extract to seem more like a candy cane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States