Candy Cane Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made this for a brunch and everyone loved it! I had to make 3 batches. Will definetely make again. You do not need to break the candy up too small, it will melt if you heat the hot chocolate slowly on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Yummy recipe! I made it for a pre Christmas get-together, and everyone really enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious, made this last night, and was a big hit. I couldn't find candy canes at the store, so instead I bought a york peppermint patty and dinner mints. I highly recoomend adding a york patty, as it really brings a strong peppermint flavor. I found peppermint whipping cream at the store, to my delight, which was a perfect topping. I decorated the cups with andes mint candies broken in half with a few dinner mints. SO delicious, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Az

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was awesome! Made it for Christmas Eve for the kids in nice big coffee mugs, garnished with candy canes as stirrers..Lovely recipe,Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious and not too strong of the peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
really really good hot cocoa! made it for friends for a Christmas caroling event and everyone loved it! made it again for my family on Christmas morning. It will now be one of our Christmas traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Perfect. Wouldn't change a thing. It's so rich and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
It wouldn't be fair for me to rate this recipe since I didn't really follow it, but when I saw it and realized I didn't have one of the main ingredients (candy canes) on hand I decided to make a concoction of my own! I had York Peppermint Patties lying around and made the following drink: (All measurements are rough estimates so please change to your liking!) ~2 1/2 cups skim milk, 3 Peppermint patties chopped into about 3-9 small pieces each, ~1/3 cup semisweet chips ....WOW! This drink is AWESOME and tastes SO much like the Starbucks Peppermint Mocha (without the espresso of course!) I also think that compared to candy canes, the peppermint patties may have melted in a shorter amount of time and to a smoother consistency... Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Wow, we really liked this! It was so easy to make. We didn't have candycanes - we crushed 8 round Starlight mints in place of the candycanes. We put them in a sealed plastic bag and placed it on our cutting board to make breaking the mints up easy. We just smashed the bag with a hammer. We topped the cocoa off with the swirly whipped cream from a can, and it looked and tasted like something straight from Starbuck's. We're going to make this one an annual tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I can't believe that this cocoa has only 5 ingredients! This cocoa is really good and I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States