Candy Cane Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Very good! Used dark chocolate and mint chips ( a new package by Nestle Tollhouse) and it gave the mint a nice flavor along with the peppermints. My whole family loved it. SO much better than packaged hot cocoa. I also used soy milk instead of regular milk, because we don't drink reg. milk (lactose intolerant) and it still turned out good. Stir often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very good! I will use a little more candy cane next time. I also put in a little half and half to cool it off and add a some creaminess because I used 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
looks super good! thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Yummy Verushka!!! I LOOOVED this. :-) I made a batch of cinnamon rolls (Clone of a Cinnabon by Marsha) to devour while finishing my Christmas tree decorating. This cocoa was the perfect complement! My fiance didn't care for this (thought it was too "pepperminty"), but I thought the mint flavor was spot on. This reminds me exactly of Starbuck's mint cocoa - but WAAAAY cheaper (yea!)!! I do have a couple of suggestions tho.... First, I only buy fat-free milk. Although I am sure that whole milk would produce a much richer cocoa, it is not necessary. With all of the calories one consumes during the holiday, wasting them on a full-fat version of this is not wise. :) Second, you should try to crush your peppermint candies/canes as best you can. It is not necessary to crush to "dust" form, but the degree to which it melts depends on how tiny the pieces are. And last, USE THE BEST CHOCOLATE YOU CAN FIND! I used Ghirardelli semi sweet squares (a nice reminder of my recent trip to San Fran!). Garnish with REAL whipped cream (some things you can't skimp on lol!) and a candy cane or crushed candies and ENJOY! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Loved it! Never had made homeade cocoa before. The only thing I changed, was I added an extra chocolate square to it! It was like it's own desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I haven't made it exactly like this recipe but I love the idea and the taste of a mint hot chocolate with whipped cream and candy canes to top it off. I will actually make this at some point but for the time being I will cheat with instant. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe is a must try, you won't regret it. As another reviewer put it - better than Starbucks! I thought this would taste too minty, but the candy cane flavor was actually nicely mild. The candy cane melts very quickly and thickens the hot cocoa. 2% milk worked great. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this after the church pagaent. My kids loved it and wanted more. I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicious! Best hot chocolate we have ever tasted!!! We added an extra candy cane. I would suggest to add two extra candy canes for extra flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrypotter101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States