Candy Cane Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This cocoa is reaaaaaaally good. i used mint chocolate instead of semi-sweet chocolate. it definitely gave the cocoa a more minty flavor. i didnt use the candy cane stirring stick or whippd cream and it came out fine. it was a good way to kick off christmas before we started opening presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholicdotvanilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent! Great treat for my family - we thoroughly enjoyed. Worth $5 at Starbucks. Definitely will save and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was perfect to serve on a cold snowy day. I used bittersweet chocolate chips instead of chopped semi-sweet chocolate and I used 1 more ounce of chocolate to make it more chocolatey. I used just 2 candy canes and topped the hot chocolate with fresh whipped cream and crushed candy canes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I typed in 1 serving and pressed the calculate button to make 1-2 servings only. For the semi-sweet chocolate I used chocolate chips, and it came out to just under 3 Tablespoons of chips per 1 oz in the recipe. I prefer soft candy cane sticks, so that is what I used. The cocoa was good, but it didn't have a strong peppermint taste. So, I added a drop of pure peppermint extract. I also thought it was a little chocolaty so I added some more milk to taste, to the pot, about 1/2-1 cup extra. I filled 2 cups and topped the drinks like the picture with whipped cream and some crushed soft candy canes. Enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This isnt very original but its still great for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Perfect peppermint cocoa. I didn't have any chocolate squares, so I just used chocolate chips instead. This was easy to make and the kids loved it after coming in from playing in the snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe! but I prefer a little sweeter tast so I added 4 spoonfulls of sugar, 1additional ounce of chocolate bar, and drizzled chocolate syrup into liquid mix. after in mug, I covered top with mini marshmallows and drizzled chocolate syrup over top. hope you enjoy!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe! Aside from using soy milk instead of regular milk, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! It does have a strong chocolate flavor as others have suggested though, so cut back a little if you don't want it rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Oh my . This is the best hot cocoa iv had in my life. Since I only wanted to make 1 mug for me I put 1 small 40g bar of chocolate in with the crushed candy cane. It was perfect Cant wait to make it for my family at christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States