Candy Cane Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This cocoa is reaaaaaaally good. i used mint chocolate instead of semi-sweet chocolate. it definitely gave the cocoa a more minty flavor. i didnt use the candy cane stirring stick or whippd cream and it came out fine. it was a good way to kick off christmas before we started opening presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholicdotvanilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent! Great treat for my family - we thoroughly enjoyed. Worth $5 at Starbucks. Definitely will save and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was perfect to serve on a cold snowy day. I used bittersweet chocolate chips instead of chopped semi-sweet chocolate and I used 1 more ounce of chocolate to make it more chocolatey. I used just 2 candy canes and topped the hot chocolate with fresh whipped cream and crushed candy canes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I typed in 1 serving and pressed the calculate button to make 1-2 servings only. For the semi-sweet chocolate I used chocolate chips, and it came out to just under 3 Tablespoons of chips per 1 oz in the recipe. I prefer soft candy cane sticks, so that is what I used. The cocoa was good, but it didn't have a strong peppermint taste. So, I added a drop of pure peppermint extract. I also thought it was a little chocolaty so I added some more milk to taste, to the pot, about 1/2-1 cup extra. I filled 2 cups and topped the drinks like the picture with whipped cream and some crushed soft candy canes. Enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This isnt very original but its still great for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Perfect peppermint cocoa. I didn't have any chocolate squares, so I just used chocolate chips instead. This was easy to make and the kids loved it after coming in from playing in the snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe! but I prefer a little sweeter tast so I added 4 spoonfulls of sugar, 1additional ounce of chocolate bar, and drizzled chocolate syrup into liquid mix. after in mug, I covered top with mini marshmallows and drizzled chocolate syrup over top. hope you enjoy!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe! Aside from using soy milk instead of regular milk, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! It does have a strong chocolate flavor as others have suggested though, so cut back a little if you don't want it rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Oh my . This is the best hot cocoa iv had in my life. Since I only wanted to make 1 mug for me I put 1 small 40g bar of chocolate in with the crushed candy cane. It was perfect Cant wait to make it for my family at christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States