Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These cookies were VERY easy to make and did not take a long time, I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. I put the candy canes in a sealed plastic baggie, then smashed them with a meat "pounder"...so that cut the time. Also, I shaped them into balls then flattened them a little before baking. They are not very sweet though, so I drizzled them with milk chocolate and they tasted great! They look very festive and took no time at all to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I am the author of this recipe and I had originally written one large bar of ghiradelli chocolate for the recipe - the really big bars. The 5 oz bar listed was not my intention so it definately has more flavor when you use more chocolate. It helps to use parchment paper to avoid the cookies sticking to the pan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These cookies were AWESOME! We used Chocolate chips but the cookies still tasted really really good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very Good - I used 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips in stead of the candy bar. This has been a crowd pleaser time and again! Also a great way to use up the leftover candy canes from Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I love this recipe....all my friends and family ask me to make these every christmas. Amazine Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This receipe was so easy to make. I did modify it a little. Like I greased the cookie sheet. Instead of using 1/2tp. peppermint extract I used 1tp. Also I took three peppermint candy canes and put them in a zip lock baggie and took a hammer to them making them into a powder. I also reduced the oven tep to 350f. Very tasty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe was easy and tasty. I took them off my baking stone while they were still very warm and transferred them to a rack and had no problem with sticking. I'll DEFINITELY be making this crowd pleaser again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm baking these right now and know that I have a winning new Christmas cookie! They are delicious and very easy to make. I did make a few changes to the recipe: lowered the oven temp to 350 degrees, I had no candy bars so I used mini chocolate chips and I added a few drops of red food coloring. Also, somebody mentioned that they used wax paper, I think parchment paper will work better ... they didn't stick at all. I think when I put them out for company (if there are any left by Christmas Eve!) I'll dust them with powdered sugar. Thanks for a great recipe Loren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRATIOTBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These are great cookies. I used parchment paper and lowered the temperature to 350 degrees. They needed more time than the 8-10 min. the recipe called for though. I did them for 12-13 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This recipe was an easy and delicious way to use up leftover candy canes. I would definitely recommend baking and cooling the cookies on parchment paper. I love the combination of chocolate and mint, however, my husband doesn't care for it. So I made a batch without the chocolate and they were delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States