Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I am the author of this recipe and I had originally written one large bar of ghiradelli chocolate for the recipe - the really big bars. The 5 oz bar listed was not my intention so it definately has more flavor when you use more chocolate. It helps to use parchment paper to avoid the cookies sticking to the pan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies were a disappointment. They took a lot of ingredients and a lot of time to make and weren't very flavorful. If I was making them again, I would not chop a chocolate bar by hand but buy the pre-chopped Hershey chocolate chunks. Also, rather than coarsely chopping the candy canes (which took a LONG time), I'd grind them in the food processor to a very fine consistency. Then you still get the flavor without large hard pieces in the cookie that might crack a tooth. I think this recipe does have some potential if someone is willing to take the time to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I liked this yummy way to use my broken candy canes, but would have some small changes to the recipe: First, defintely grease the cookie sheet! Also, I would add more peppermint extract and maybe more chocolate to give it more flavor. These cookies MUST be removed from the pan immediately because the melted candy cane pieces harden very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These cookies were VERY easy to make and did not take a long time, I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. I put the candy canes in a sealed plastic baggie, then smashed them with a meat "pounder"...so that cut the time. Also, I shaped them into balls then flattened them a little before baking. They are not very sweet though, so I drizzled them with milk chocolate and they tasted great! They look very festive and took no time at all to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I'm baking these right now and know that I have a winning new Christmas cookie! They are delicious and very easy to make. I did make a few changes to the recipe: lowered the oven temp to 350 degrees, I had no candy bars so I used mini chocolate chips and I added a few drops of red food coloring. Also, somebody mentioned that they used wax paper, I think parchment paper will work better ... they didn't stick at all. I think when I put them out for company (if there are any left by Christmas Eve!) I'll dust them with powdered sugar. Thanks for a great recipe Loren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRATIOTBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Parchment paper. 350 oven, 11-13 min. semi-sweet choc., 1 tsp. peppermint extract. Crushed candy canes. Not too sweet, just perfect! They've made it into my recipe box...we used earth balance margarine and non-dairy choc. chips as we have a dairy allergy in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was not as tasty as I wanted and it was tough to make. You have to get the candy canes small or they melt all over and ruin it. It also stuck to the pan real bad. It was ok but could have been sweeter and maybe use parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Few tips: REMOVE IMMEDIATELY means "immediately!" These have candy (canes) in them and will stick to your pan like crazy. Be generous with the non-stick spray. Crush candy canes pretty finely. Otherwise, they melt during baking, leaving a big hole in your cookie and causing them to break. Make cookies smaller than you might think you need to; they spread. Bonus: You get a LOT of cookies per batch. I needed to bake mine 11-12 minutes. Test your first batch. My DH pronounced them "GREAT!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Loren's right--we've decided this cookie will be made every Christmas! My kids loved crushing the candy cane (I double ziplocked them). I only made a couple of changes as suggested by other reviewers...1 cup of chocolate chips and on the first batch I made, I added several drops of red food coloring since it seemed mostly white after I crushed the candy cane. Well, some cookies look fine, others look like open surgery! So the next batch I didn't add the food coloring and there was still plenty of red flecks in the cookies-a good lesson learned! The cookies are fabulous and I'm not even a huge peppermint fan-thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very easy and tasty cookie. I made the following substitutions: 1 c. butter flavor shortening sticks plus 6 tsp. water for the butter 1/2 c. of miniature milk chocolate candy bars chopped and 1/2 c. semi sweet morsels for the 5oz. choc. bar. I also used silpat lined pans to bake them on and had no trouble with sticking. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States