Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These cookies were a disappointment. They took a lot of ingredients and a lot of time to make and weren't very flavorful. If I was making them again, I would not chop a chocolate bar by hand but buy the pre-chopped Hershey chocolate chunks. Also, rather than coarsely chopping the candy canes (which took a LONG time), I'd grind them in the food processor to a very fine consistency. Then you still get the flavor without large hard pieces in the cookie that might crack a tooth. I think this recipe does have some potential if someone is willing to take the time to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
These cookies were VERY easy to make and did not take a long time, I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about. I put the candy canes in a sealed plastic baggie, then smashed them with a meat "pounder"...so that cut the time. Also, I shaped them into balls then flattened them a little before baking. They are not very sweet though, so I drizzled them with milk chocolate and they tasted great! They look very festive and took no time at all to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was great for using up leftover candy canes. The cookies turned out pretty well, although several stuck to the pan where the candy can melted out. I used up some leftover Christmas chocolate as well. I would probably just use chocolate chunks next time. Will make again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I liked this yummy way to use my broken candy canes, but would have some small changes to the recipe: First, defintely grease the cookie sheet! Also, I would add more peppermint extract and maybe more chocolate to give it more flavor. These cookies MUST be removed from the pan immediately because the melted candy cane pieces harden very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I am the author of this recipe and I had originally written one large bar of ghiradelli chocolate for the recipe - the really big bars. The 5 oz bar listed was not my intention so it definately has more flavor when you use more chocolate. It helps to use parchment paper to avoid the cookies sticking to the pan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These cookies were AWESOME! We used Chocolate chips but the cookies still tasted really really good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very Good - I used 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips in stead of the candy bar. This has been a crowd pleaser time and again! Also a great way to use up the leftover candy canes from Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I love this recipe....all my friends and family ask me to make these every christmas. Amazine Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My best advice would be to use 1/2 cup of candy canes instead of 1 cup. Even though I lined the cookie sheet with wax paper I still couldn't get the first batch unstuck from the pans. Made a second batch with less candy canes and it turned out much better. I also lowered the temperature of the oven to 350 degrees on the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This receipe was so easy to make. I did modify it a little. Like I greased the cookie sheet. Instead of using 1/2tp. peppermint extract I used 1tp. Also I took three peppermint candy canes and put them in a zip lock baggie and took a hammer to them making them into a powder. I also reduced the oven tep to 350f. Very tasty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States