Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
UGH!! This was lots of work to make. From the candy cane unwrapping and chopping to chopping up the candy bar (if I ever made this again I would just use milk chocolate chips). I read through the tips about using parchment paper and I used my silicone baking mats -- rotating them letting each batch cool before I removed them. The dough was not that great-- all the flavor comes from the candy in the cookie. I have had better cookies with less work. Everyone likes them but just after all that work. . . but for less work I can get the same kind of reaction with other cookies. I have come back to add a star -- even though I still think it is a ton of work -- I had great feedback on this cookie to all that I gave it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These were good and certainly fit the Christmas season. As other reviewers suggested, I baked them on parchment paper at a lower temperature. I cooled them on the parchment paper and they didn't stick at all. I about doubled the chocolate but only had mini chips on hand. In the future, I think I would use bigger pieces, chips or chunks. My kids liked them and we will probably make them again after the holidays with any leftover candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Recipe was too cakey- didnt care for these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Jeffries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donna
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I had a great time making these cookies. I used a couple of regular candycanes but then found it easier to use soft candycanes. Smashing the candycanes did take a bit of time but it was fun and the cookies turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Yummy cookies! I used almost a whole bag of milk chocolate chipits instead of the chocolate bar and they were great. I would flatten the dough balls out next time just for a better eye appeal. A great treat for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My cookies came out dry and crumbly-but really tasted good!!! I used semi sweet chocolate chunks instead of the candy bar and used peppermint oil instead of extract. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These cookies were pretty good. The church staff loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Loren's right--we've decided this cookie will be made every Christmas! My kids loved crushing the candy cane (I double ziplocked them). I only made a couple of changes as suggested by other reviewers...1 cup of chocolate chips and on the first batch I made, I added several drops of red food coloring since it seemed mostly white after I crushed the candy cane. Well, some cookies look fine, others look like open surgery! So the next batch I didn't add the food coloring and there was still plenty of red flecks in the cookies-a good lesson learned! The cookies are fabulous and I'm not even a huge peppermint fan-thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very easy and tasty cookie. I made the following substitutions: 1 c. butter flavor shortening sticks plus 6 tsp. water for the butter 1/2 c. of miniature milk chocolate candy bars chopped and 1/2 c. semi sweet morsels for the 5oz. choc. bar. I also used silpat lined pans to bake them on and had no trouble with sticking. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I'll have to try to make these again - My first batch came out with the consistency of dry cornbread and pretty much tasted like flour. I added an extra egg to get some more liquid in them, added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and another 1/3 cup of white sugar. Those came out better but still with a flour taste. I LOVE the idea of these and the chocolate (I used chips for ease) I'll have to give them another shot with all of these 5 stars attached - I must have gone wrong somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States