Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These cookies taste delicious. Here are my suggestions: Instead of 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1/3 brown sugar & 1/3 white sugar (as per a suggestion to make the cookies softer). SKIP THE CREAM OF TARTAR as it made the cookies cakey and kind of crumbly which isn't my idea of a chocolate chip cookie - the cookies still taste delicious but it isn't the ideal texture. I bought the 6-pack of Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars (45g x 6 bars) and used them all after I chopped them. I needed two packages of 10 candy canes in order to make a cup. Put on parchment paper - so much easier to remove the cookies and an easier cleanup too. Bake at 350 degrees (as per a suggestion)...although I needed to bake mine for about 15-20 minutes opposed to other's that have said 11-13. I got 75 cookies out of ONE batch, the balls of dough must have been 1 tsp. Will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We've made this recipe for a few years now with a few modifications. First..definitely use parchment paper! We also use the chocolate chunks instead of chips, and bake 12-13 minutes. We let them sit to cool on the parchment paper approx 2 minutes after removing from the oven & they're a lot easier to get off the pan as the candy canes have then cooled to the point of being a bit firm. Thanks for a great recipe...we will continue to make these every year. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have been making Chocolate Chunk Candy Cane Cookies for many many years with my childre (Its a Christmas tradition) Over this course of time I have discovered a few things that work to make the cookes taste better. Along with the origional rescipe I added my own touch of taste. 1) Parchment paper (I always add a little bit of water under the parchment paper so it sticks to the pan) 2) In a plastic bag crush candy canes until they are really small almost to a dust but not quite (This way the flavour is full but no one has hurt teeth) 3) In a plastic bag crush Hard Chocolate to small or medium chunks (I always use pure milk chocolate from the Bulk Barn - you can buy this chocolate in huge pieces from the Bulk Barn 4) Add 1 cup of sugar 5) After baked Remove from pan ASAP and place on a cooling rack. Alrighty well thats my two cents......Have a great day all, and Merry Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I origionally made and reviewed these on Dec. 3,2011, I have to add a bit to my comments. First I said these were "Musty".Correction "Verry Musty". I have made them them many times now and am in big trouble, can't keep my hands off them. Like the fact that they are not as sweet as some cookies. I have also ased 1 tsp. peppermint extract instead of the listed amount. I also have started using a whole bag of Dark Chocolate Chips,YUM. These could be hard to mix, but I use my Kitchen Aid. I also use parchment paper.Would add five more stars if I could. Everyone I have given them to loved them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
this recipe was dissapointing i thought it was gross at how much of the candycanes tasted and how they looked. the candycanes also melted i would certainly NOT recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Everyone loved these cookies! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Parchment paper. 350 oven, 11-13 min. semi-sweet choc., 1 tsp. peppermint extract. Crushed candy canes. Not too sweet, just perfect! They've made it into my recipe box...we used earth balance margarine and non-dairy choc. chips as we have a dairy allergy in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Really good. Nice consistency. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
this recipe was a waste of time, and ingredients. We followed it right, and, they turned out with a runny middle, and cooked edges.. bad flavor too. Dissapontment to my daughter, who was very excited to make these. We are now making 1 we know and trust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
very good flavor, always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States