Candy Cane Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
These cookies taste delicious. Here are my suggestions: Instead of 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1/3 brown sugar & 1/3 white sugar (as per a suggestion to make the cookies softer). SKIP THE CREAM OF TARTAR as it made the cookies cakey and kind of crumbly which isn't my idea of a chocolate chip cookie - the cookies still taste delicious but it isn't the ideal texture. I bought the 6-pack of Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars (45g x 6 bars) and used them all after I chopped them. I needed two packages of 10 candy canes in order to make a cup. Put on parchment paper - so much easier to remove the cookies and an easier cleanup too. Bake at 350 degrees (as per a suggestion)...although I needed to bake mine for about 15-20 minutes opposed to other's that have said 11-13. I got 75 cookies out of ONE batch, the balls of dough must have been 1 tsp. Will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We've made this recipe for a few years now with a few modifications. First..definitely use parchment paper! We also use the chocolate chunks instead of chips, and bake 12-13 minutes. We let them sit to cool on the parchment paper approx 2 minutes after removing from the oven & they're a lot easier to get off the pan as the candy canes have then cooled to the point of being a bit firm. Thanks for a great recipe...we will continue to make these every year. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have been making Chocolate Chunk Candy Cane Cookies for many many years with my childre (Its a Christmas tradition) Over this course of time I have discovered a few things that work to make the cookes taste better. Along with the origional rescipe I added my own touch of taste. 1) Parchment paper (I always add a little bit of water under the parchment paper so it sticks to the pan) 2) In a plastic bag crush candy canes until they are really small almost to a dust but not quite (This way the flavour is full but no one has hurt teeth) 3) In a plastic bag crush Hard Chocolate to small or medium chunks (I always use pure milk chocolate from the Bulk Barn - you can buy this chocolate in huge pieces from the Bulk Barn 4) Add 1 cup of sugar 5) After baked Remove from pan ASAP and place on a cooling rack. Alrighty well thats my two cents......Have a great day all, and Merry Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I origionally made and reviewed these on Dec. 3,2011, I have to add a bit to my comments. First I said these were "Musty".Correction "Verry Musty". I have made them them many times now and am in big trouble, can't keep my hands off them. Like the fact that they are not as sweet as some cookies. I have also ased 1 tsp. peppermint extract instead of the listed amount. I also have started using a whole bag of Dark Chocolate Chips,YUM. These could be hard to mix, but I use my Kitchen Aid. I also use parchment paper.Would add five more stars if I could. Everyone I have given them to loved them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
this recipe was dissapointing i thought it was gross at how much of the candycanes tasted and how they looked. the candycanes also melted i would certainly NOT recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Everyone loved these cookies! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Parchment paper. 350 oven, 11-13 min. semi-sweet choc., 1 tsp. peppermint extract. Crushed candy canes. Not too sweet, just perfect! They've made it into my recipe box...we used earth balance margarine and non-dairy choc. chips as we have a dairy allergy in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Really good. Nice consistency. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
this recipe was a waste of time, and ingredients. We followed it right, and, they turned out with a runny middle, and cooked edges.. bad flavor too. Dissapontment to my daughter, who was very excited to make these. We are now making 1 we know and trust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
very good flavor, always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States