Candy Bar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I've made this twice now and the second time was a lot easier than the first... The first time, the peanut and caramel mixture was really difficult to spread. The second time, I found a way to make spreading the peanut mixture easy. After you put the peanuts into the caramel, the peanuts cool down the mixture and the cool mixture is hard to spread so I put the mixture back into the microwave and reheated it. Then I spooned the peanuts and caramel on top of the first layer of chocolate. It worked perfect, the hot caramel spread evenly and easily. I also used 34 caramel squares and only 1 3/4 cups of peanuts. This is one of the best home made candy recipes I've ran across and, yes, it does taste a lot like a snickers bar. I took some to work and shared with employees and several ask for the recipe. I'll make this one over and over....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
WARNING...WARNING...WARNING! Do NOT allow yourself to be home alone with this fudge! You really should use 50 caramels and a little more water in this. (Also reheat after adding peanuts for ease of spreading.) I did and it was wonderful! Super easy, super yummy. Wait two hours to cool before you can dive in??? Forget it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Six!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Taste like my favorite candy bar! I went ahead and used a whole pkg of caramels (50) and 1 1/2 tbsp of water. I love caramel and the little bit extra made the peanut/caramel mix easier to spread. Next time I will try it with pecans:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
easy to make and very good. the only thing i'd recommend is to keep in mind that the fudge must stay refrigerated, or the caramel melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Everyone said how great this fudge was. The only reason I didn't give it 5* is because I found the caramel and peanuts hard to spread on and ended up having to do it with my fingers. I would make it again for special occasions. I added only half of the peanuts and thought it was plenty. Next time I'm going to coarsely chop the peanuts so it will be easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEPUZZLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is absolutely sinful. I have tried and tried to make fudge over the years and it never comes out right. This time it was excellent. I would however reccomend doubling the caramals and increasing the chocolate chips by at least 50%. I will try this next time. I also substituted Pecans and Almonds for the Peanuts since I don't like Peanuts. Very YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This is a delicious candy that I will likely make again when it gets to be the holiday candy season. I took it to work and had several requests for the recipe. I lined the pan with foil before greasing so that I could easily remove the entire chunck of chilled fudge from the pan before cutting. I took the suggestions of other reviewers and used only 1 1/2 cups peanuts. I also returned the peanut/caramel mixture to the microwave for 30 seconds to keep it spreadable and that worked out very well. This is a very easy (and very good) candy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
Rich and wonderful! I used toasted pecans instead of the peanuts and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
This is such a wonderful recipe! MMmmmmmmm... Everyone in my family absolutely loved it, and are begging me to make more! Since it uses the microwave it's a super quick and easy recipe. I've never made successful fudge before, until with this recipe. Definately a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This was really good, but the two days later the top got kind of weird, dull-looking with little white spots. A friend who ate it the first day though ate about half the pan. Good if you serve it the day you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKISETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States