Candy Bar Bars by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Just okay. I don't think I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My kids just loved these. I do have a solution to the pan stickness. I lined my pan with parchment paper and baked them. No sticky mess, and the bars were not gooey. It worked great! Great recipe, a must try for anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe was really a hit! My boyfriend went crazy over them, shared them with the guys at work to show them what an awesome cook I am. The only thing I changed was adding some plain M&M's to add a little color. I'm going to make them for the holidays and use red and green M&M's to look more festive. I used all the candy mentioned in the recipe, the chocolate cavered crisp wafers really made it good with that little crispy bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I used Reese's and this was REALLY good. I lined the pan with tin foil for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was pretty disappointing for me because of the previous great reviews. I did spray the pan liberally which is definitely necessary. I used 3 cups of chopped sinckers and 1 cup of chopped peanuts as mentioned by another reviewer. I didn't like the chopped peanuts. It was kind of crumbly but held together well enough. I just feel there are much better bar cookies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These were the best bars - a little expensive to make, but worth it. I used 16 candy bars and didn't bother measuring the 4 cups. I used Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, Snickers, Butterfinger, Whatchamacalits, and Twix. Super delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I made this for a babyshower using peanut butter cups for the candy topping... which worked great with the peanut butter on the bottom. Spraying the pan with a butter spray will help in removing the bars after cooling. Be careful not to over bake or you'll burn the edges! Overal awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Absolutely delicious! Definitely the best sweet I've made so far this holiday season! It's very fragile though, so you'll want to factor that in your storage plans.[EDIT: NOT fragile now, read below] Also, the condensed milk sort of glues it to your pan, so either keep the milk away from the pan edges, or figure out some method of freeing your bars from your pan without ripping them into pieces. As a side note, using 4 cups of just chocolate makes for an extremely rich treat. (I used milk chocolate, dark chocolate, and Almond Joys.) Next time I will very likely substitute one of the cups of candy with peanuts, so as to make a less rich (and less gooey, and less time-consuming, cutting up 4 cups of candy took me over an hour) treat. I will definitely make this again! EDIT 12/24/09: I have made this many times now, my family demands it. Now I line the pan w/parchment paper. I spray my hands w/PAM spray before putting in the crust. I press the goodies into the milk to get them stuck firmly in there. I let it COMPLETELY cool after cooking & remove the entire thing from the pan using the paper. I peel the paper away from the sides, and slice away. I use a 9x13, and I get 28 dense, delicious bars. They're no longer fragile, as they were in my original review. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States