Candie's Easy Potato and Onion Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tardyk
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious. I added garlic salt for seasoning since we love it. I also added bacon grease to the potatoes and half the butter to give is a loaded baked potato taste. There was barely enough left for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tardyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was delicious! The only change I made was to leave out the parsley, and I probably used more salt and pepper. I used Vidalia onions and baking potatoes. I was looking for a dish like Mom used to make when we were kids - just potatoes and onions, baked until tender, edges crisp. This was it! (Caution: if you're slicing these on a mandolin like I was, be sure you use the safety guide. My potatoes didn't quite fit the guide and I wanted the slices big, but thin. Yep, that things starts sliding pretty fast and before I knew it ..... Just be careful out there!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Am I missing something? Just made these, followed the recipe but added more seasoning, cheese, bacon. Baked for over and hour and they're still not tender. Very bland no matter what I add:( so disappointed. Prettier than they taste. What did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I fried the thinly sliced potatoes and onions in olive oil, paprika, seasoning salt, garlic and pepper based upon the other suggestions and will bake at 350 for about an hour putting shredded cheese the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Curry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I have made this numerous times; following the recipe as written. We love it!! Leftovers are equally as good. The main thing here is to make sure to use sweet onions, it makes a big difference. We have tried it with suggestions from other reviewers by adding cheese and/or bacon; but our favorite is as written. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Very nice and easy potato dish. Maybe a little spice or herb would be nice to up the flavor. Thanks for posting the recipe. Will definitely use it again, maybe with a little thyme or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was such an easy and yummy dish! And it's so economical! The perfect side dish for a pot luck or cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I thought this was a good dish because it was so easy, but I baked mine at 425 degrees to cut the cooking time down. At 350, it would still take a long time for all those potato slices to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thanks for this easy but delicious recipe! My husband loved it.. it is not overpowering, which is makes it nice to actually be able to taste the food in a dish. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States