Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I've made this recipe twice and it was enjoyed by all. One thing you must try is adding cinnamon after adding the butter, it is so much better, add enough to lightly dust the entire thing, add more or less depending on your taste. I forgot to add it in the second batch and everyone said it was missing something and wasn't as good, I realized then that I forgot the cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1922 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
These came out really great with a few minor variations. I drained and coarsly smashed the canned yams to make them smoother, but also to keep some texture to them. I mixed yams and brown sugar together and then topped with the butter & marshmallows. I uncovered the dish about 15 minutes before it was done so the marshmallows would slightly brown. I used more marshmallows then the recipe called for and I think that along with the smashing of the yams prevented them from melting into the yams too much. Very tasty!! Another tip...spray the foil with cooking spray before you cover this to prevent it from sticking to the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My first Thanksgiving in charge and this dish was wonderful! I prepared it ahead of time so I'll give the details in case it helps someone else. Four large fresh yams (microwaved 20 minutes per a previous reviewer) peeled and cubed (they were almost too soft to cube) fit in a 1 1/2 quart casserole. I added the butter, sugar and a cup of marshmallows and left it in the fridge. Nothing I had was cooking at 400, so I tossed it in for 20-30 minutes with some other things at 350, and for another 20-25 at 375. I left it covered that entire time as I wanted it to heat up, but not burn. The marshmallows melted in and it was all golden bubbly goodness. I covered the top with more marshmallows and popped it back in uncovered long enough for the marshmallows to merge and get toasty. (Just about the same time it takes to brown the french onions on the green bean casserole!) They held a soft cube form long enough to pick up with a fork, but dissolved the minute they hit your mouth. Scrumptious! Second time around, I peeled the yams first and cubed them and steamed them until tender. It seemed MUCH easier for me than microwaving first and the final texture came out better. I used too much butter, though, and it was very watery in the bottom. Or there may be something to using a higher heat to carmelize the sugar. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
751 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
The recipe didn't mention draining the canned yams, so I didn't. Most of the marshmallows fell into the juice and dissolved, and I ended up with yams floating in a watery juice. They tasted fine, but looked awful. Next time, I'll know to drain them. I think next time I will mash them up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Good ...i did use fresh yams,1 tsp vanilla extract and few dash of cinamon,peeled,cubed boiled 15mins before baking in the oven.Even added a little butter and brown sugar after taking it out n let it sit for at least 15mins before eating and the flavour just marinated..i did not use the marsmallows... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
459 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I agree, cinnamon really does give this one an extra punch. Had the same problem with marshmallows melting all the way through, will try the big marshmallows next time. One thing to suggest, use a foil pan to cook these in...the cooked marshmallows are really tough to get off your pans!! But for as easy as this one is I can't believe how many compliments I got on it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this last Thanksgiving-had never made this dish before because I thought I did not like candied yams. Well either I was missing out or this is just a really good recipe ;-) I made it again for Christmas. My husband likes it so much I am making it here in the middle of June! Be sure to drain the yams before you start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I used fresh Yams (microwaved for about 20 minutes then peeled.) EASY AS PIE! And great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ramey Becker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
These were great. The only problem I had was that I forgot to drain the canned yams -- next time, I'll remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Fantastic! I used fresh yams and just parboiled them instead of canned but it was a super easy dish to make and delicious! I just served it for (CDN) Thanksgiving this past weekend and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States