Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My husband really enjoys this dish. I drained the yams and added a bit of salt because I use unsalted butter. It really added good flavor. I also uncovered the dish for a bit so that the mellows could brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Other's have stated they did not know to drain the cans, so I was sure to do that, altho the recipe I usually use calls for more liquid. I think the problems people were having with the marshmallows is because the recipe calls to add them at the beginning. I suggest allowing the yams to cook most of the way, about 20 mins and then add the marshmallows with no cover on it. Watch them puff up and get a light golden brown and your done! I also suggest playing around with flavors, cinnamon of course is good, but you can also try adding molasses, orange juice or maple syrup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love, Love, Love! this recipe is sooo easy. I tried it 3 years ago and have been making it for Thanksgiving ever since. I sprinkle yams with cinnamon and add chopped pecans before layering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very Good!! I used 4 sweet potatoe yams cubed and steemed and large marshmellows cut in half to fit all the way across and it was so yummy, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
oh so GOOD! First time doing Yams. I followed the recipe as is, but added cinammon after the butter as a reviewer reccomended, and Loved it! Traditional dish for my hubby and I wanted to have a recipe of my own to make for him for the holidays. Just heard him say "oh this is delicious" over and over ;) Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
yum yum, my dad is the only one who likes yams, and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
EASY!! I skipped the marshmallows.. I put them in a small bowl on the side.. this is such a sweet dish, it really doesnt need any more sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy*Surf city

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This recipe was really great. I took the advice of other reviews, and drained the sweet potatos, mashed them up a bit and added cinnamon. My boyfriend and I finished the entire dish the night I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
way too runny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I was in charge of veggies at our big Thanksgiving. These were a total hit, even with my non-veggie eating in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States