Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We made this for Thanksgiving day 2011. 12 servings. It was awweessome! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So easy. So good. I followed other viewers advice about adding vanilla extract, cinnamon and melting the butter for better distribution. Loved it and before this I never really liked candied yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Portia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is always a big hit! Especially since I hated yams until I made this recipe for my husband. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm making.. Oops, I mean troubleshooting.. this recipe right now (on thanksgiving) because no where in this -what should have been really simple- recipe did it say that you should drain the sweet potatoes. So instead of having whats in the picture going to my table, I have what amounts to sugary sweet potato soup heading there. A person shouldn't have to read comments to a recipe, for things that should have been said in the recipe itself. Theres no telling -at all- that it wasn't intended to have all of the liquid, let alone how much liquid from the can should have been drained out in the first place. Also, aside from all that, the marshmallows didn't get brown what-so-ever being covered, so it needed to be put back in the oven any way to brown those. Should have scrapped this idea from the menu all together and given the marshmallows to the kids. This "should be simple" recipe is a complete failure to launch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
such a simple, awesome tasting recipe, but exactly what i needed for a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My husband really enjoys this dish. I drained the yams and added a bit of salt because I use unsalted butter. It really added good flavor. I also uncovered the dish for a bit so that the mellows could brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Other's have stated they did not know to drain the cans, so I was sure to do that, altho the recipe I usually use calls for more liquid. I think the problems people were having with the marshmallows is because the recipe calls to add them at the beginning. I suggest allowing the yams to cook most of the way, about 20 mins and then add the marshmallows with no cover on it. Watch them puff up and get a light golden brown and your done! I also suggest playing around with flavors, cinnamon of course is good, but you can also try adding molasses, orange juice or maple syrup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Love, Love, Love! this recipe is sooo easy. I tried it 3 years ago and have been making it for Thanksgiving ever since. I sprinkle yams with cinnamon and add chopped pecans before layering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Very Good!! I used 4 sweet potatoe yams cubed and steemed and large marshmellows cut in half to fit all the way across and it was so yummy, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
oh so GOOD! First time doing Yams. I followed the recipe as is, but added cinammon after the butter as a reviewer reccomended, and Loved it! Traditional dish for my hubby and I wanted to have a recipe of my own to make for him for the holidays. Just heard him say "oh this is delicious" over and over ;) Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.

Displaying results 71-80 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States