Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this twice and found that using real yams or sweet potatoes is better than the canned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I thought these were really good. Found out I was the only one in my 5 person family that likes them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Waterford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were great! I drained my sweet potatoes and made two batches. One dish I added cinnamon, and the other dish I did not. We liked the one with cinnamon more! Thanks to the reviewers who suggested it! Still though, the one made exactly as the recipe stated received great reviews from my Christmas dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
REALLY good! I'm always the one to make sweet potatoes at Thanksgiving, but I've always whipped them up with half and half and salt and pepper (which I really like) but for Christmas, I was asked to make candied yams and DANG this was good **AND** simple!! This is a keeper - MIGHT add pecans or walnuts next time! OH - and I did use fresh potatoes and just followed another suggestion of microwaving beforehand. I did this the night before and stuck them in the fridge so they weren't hot to handle when peeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Gibson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I love this recipe. I use three large yams, peel them, cut them into 2X2 inch pieces, boil until tender. Then I add the butter, brown sugar and a couple splashes of Sherry into the mix. Then I follow the rest of the recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great basic recipe. Used a larger can of sweet potatoes (yams); I coarsely mashed the yams and added 1/2 of the brown sugar to them, 1 tbsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I put the remainder of the brown sugar on top with the margarine and the marshmallows. I don't like pecans but they would be a good addition to the top also. Baked 15 minutes covered with foil and 15 minutes uncovered to let the marshmallows brown. Make sure you drain the yams or you will have a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
simple and very good. Made exactly as posted except doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very nice! I only used 1 table spoon of brown sugar since I like less sweet in everything. It turned so good. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My son loves them. I did add a little cinnamon & a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ausy711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Brasher Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is always part of my meal planner when we can actually have a Thanksgiving dinner. Either way we are Always THANKFUL for being together as a Family. Blessings to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlaxicanQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States