Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I love cooking and I just love candied yams! There was only one problem when I made these. All the marshmallows on top melted COMPLETELY into the sweet potatoes. What did I do wrong? The only thing that I think I might have done wrong is I had to use the big marshmallows instead of the little ones but it was still the same amount of marshmallows. Oh well I will try again. This were super easy to make!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Try adding a little cinnamon to this recipe. It give the yams a little twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I agree, cinnamon really does give this one an extra punch. Had the same problem with marshmallows melting all the way through, will try the big marshmallows next time. One thing to suggest, use a foil pan to cook these in...the cooked marshmallows are really tough to get off your pans!! But for as easy as this one is I can't believe how many compliments I got on it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I didnt like how the marshmallows werent browned and how they did melt into everything. I used the big marshmallows yet still melted. Maybe the yams should be mashed with the juice and mix with the butter and brown sugar bake it then add the marshmallows. Not sure that I will make it again, it was easy but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Ridiculously simple to make, and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a great recipe! I couldn't find the recipe we used to make at home, and this one was very similar. I used boiled sweet potatoes instead of canned. I also added pineapple rings to the bottom of the baking dish. I plan to use this again next Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was so easy and good I'm sure I'll use it for the rest of my life! I did add some vanilla and nutmeg before I baked it and I didn't use marshmellows. Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved these candied yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I quadrupled this recipe for Thanksgiving, using canned sweet potatoes. Two of my kids helped me put it together (ages 4 and 6), and I got RAVE reviews from all my relatives. Thanks for this recipe! (We didn't mind at all that the marshmallows completely melted. It's usually a fight anyway as to who gets the top layer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I used fresh Yams (microwaved for about 20 minutes then peeled.) EASY AS PIE! And great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMSICKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
The recipe didn't mention draining the canned yams, so I didn't. Most of the marshmallows fell into the juice and dissolved, and I ended up with yams floating in a watery juice. They tasted fine, but looked awful. Next time, I'll know to drain them. I think next time I will mash them up, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States