Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very nice! I only used 1 table spoon of brown sugar since I like less sweet in everything. It turned so good. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My son loves them. I did add a little cinnamon & a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ausy711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Brasher Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is always part of my meal planner when we can actually have a Thanksgiving dinner. Either way we are Always THANKFUL for being together as a Family. Blessings to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlaxicanQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is a must have for our family at Thanksgiving. I'd probably be disowned if I didn't make it. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I make a few changes. I make this recipe x5 because we have a big family and everyone loves it. I cut down on the butter a little and use the liquid from the yams to make up the difference(probably about 2/3 butter to 1/3 yam liquid). I melt the butter and add the brown sugar with a little nutmeg and vanilla. I added pineapple one year and everyone loved it so now I always do. One year I put the pineapple slices on the bottom of the pan and it was really good. The next year I tried adding pineapple chunks to the yams and everyone raved about it. I use mini marshmallows and add them after fully cooking the yams. They come out nicely browned and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
EASY and SO GOOD! I was short for time so I melted butter in a electric fry skillet, threw the DRAINED yams in, sprinkled the brown sugar and mixed all together. I let them simmer for 5 minutes or so and then transferred to a baking dish. I sprinkled with the marshmallows and put it in the 400 degree oven for another 5 minutes or until the marshmallows were golden brown. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My Mom used this recipe for years....this was always part of her Holiday menus....I LOVE this dish and will always make it for my loved ones. DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Yummy and easy. I used fresh sweet potatoes. Deee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was delish! I took the advice of other reviewers and backed off the sugar, doubled the recipe, added nutmeg & cinnamon and I too added a little cinnamon sugar. Next time I'll cut back some on the butter, as I think that could be reduced some. I also drained the canned yams, rinsed them with water, sliced them some then baked with the top on for about 25 minutes. I added the marshmellows last with the top removed and broiled them for a couple of minutes. Turned out perfect! A huge hit in my house and will be my staple dish for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
made these for thanks giving, had no idea what I was doing but I wanted a traditional thanks giving dinner and this came in very handy, thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I've been using this recipe for funeral luncheons lately - so easy & quick. I use 29 oz of sweet potatoes plus a small can. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States