Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Love it!!!! Wish I would have bought lots of yams to triple the recipe. My picky eaters asked for seconds that hardly happens! Yup! This recipe is definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have used this recipe for years. My husband is the only one that eats them so he loves them made this way. Only exception is I add cinnamon and chopped pecans as well to give texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I use this recipe every year and besides the cinnamon, I also add chopped walnuts. Tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Neely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
so I decided to make this for Thanksgiving this year, I added the cinnamon, and also some vanilla extract, and honey as well. This year I wanted to try something different though and threw in a dollop of cool whip. And it was AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My favorite recipe!!! Soo good! My nephews said I make the best sweet potato casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious recipe. I added some cinnamon to the mix to really kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I made this recipe last night to practice for Thanksgiving. I boiled the sweet potatoes and mash them and mix them with cinnamon salt dark brown sugar and unsalted butter. The store didn't have the mini marshmallows so I used the regular size (which I would not use again, the mini would work best) the dish was a hit and will be definitely making it for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I tweaked my recipe a little, i used my kitchen aid & added a tiny bit of vanilla extract. .. I also used a deep dish and big marshmellows instead of the miniatures! Let me tell ya tthere's a difference. #nevergoingbacktominiatures
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Leigh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I loved it! My hubby also loved it--and he is definitely not a sweets-kinda person. I appreciated the tips from previous reviewers, too. I used 4 large yams. I cut them up, placed them in a large bowl and microwaved them for about 20-25 minutes, stopping every once in a while to check their mushiness. Once I was able to easily mash them, I then added cinnamon and a touch of pumpkin spice seasoning (the Trader Joe's spice jar I have literally says "Pumpkin Pie Spice", and it contains cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom). I also added a dash of vanilla (real vanilla--not artificial). I stirred the cinnamon, pumpkin spice, vanilla and brown sugar into the yams. Then I placed the yams in my baking dish and topped it with chopped up butter. I thoroughly covered my baking dish with aluminum foil to ensure the marshmallows wouldn't get cemented into the pan, as advised by a previous reviewer. I also used Pam oil spray to spray the aluminum foil that covered the candied yams so that the marshmallows eouldn't stick to it. I baked it covered for 25 minutes, then uncovered it, added more marshmallows, and baked it again for 5 minutes to let the marshmallows toast to a golden brown. Toasting this way really was like toasting them over a campfire, as a previous reviewer mentioned. This was my first time making candied yams, and I didn't expect it to turn out right, but it turned out amazingly delicious ! It was a pan full of golden, gooey yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Recipe I use at Thanksgiving! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States