Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Simply Fantastic. I made these ahead of time and then just warmed them up in the oven next to the ham in the last half hour or so. I peeled, cubed then micro waved the yams, arranged them in a baking dish, brushed generously with butter, and then sprinkled a mixture of brown sugar, cinnamon and a bit of maple sugar that sitting around. Lightly topped with marshmallows, and then covered the entire thing popped it into the oven in the last 20 mins or so at 375. Uncovered it for 10 mins to toast the marshmallows a bit. All I can say is amazing. They were a bit sweet to be sure, but texture and smell were heavenly. My 3 year old got the most amazing look on her face when she tried them. I'll be doing these at christmas for sure now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used fresh yams and probably didn't microwave them long enough prior to putting them in the main dish. I had to bake the dish for an extra 20 mins or so because the yams were still hard. By cooking it this extra time, the marshmallows almost disappeared. But luckily... they were the most delicious yams EVER! They were a HUGE hit at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srkosturos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great reciepe! I used 2 large cans of Bruce's yams, drained all of the juice, cut up the yams into smaller bits and then followed the rest of the reciepe the same. It was very sweet and the toasted marshmallows on top were AWESOME!! My husband NEVER eats stuff like this and he gobbled it up! This will definaltey be a Thanksgiving/Christmas food item at our house :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
So yummy and easy. The only thing I did differently was leaving the marshmellows out or off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am glad that I had a 40 oz can of yams...the small can would have only served 2. I drained most of the juice off but was afraid that it would be too dry so I drizzled about 1/3 cup, next time I will drain it all off and use a smaller dish, I used a 8 in square and I thought it was too thin. I also mashed them slightly, but won't do that again, it was too soggy and the marshmallows just melted into the juice. I added more marshmallows after it baked. Maybe next time I'll add pecans for some extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
LOVE this recipe!!!! My husband and I were fighting over the last of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marengo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The only thing I did not like about this recipe is that the marshmallows were completely melted after 25 minutes. I will put them on later next time. Otherwise, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I am not a candied yams person but my family loved them & they were really good. I will make them again! Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE
Home Town: Sycamore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
so very easy and delicious. It was a huge hit on Thanksgiving and the week after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States