Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I normally can't stand yams or sweet potatoes. I made the yams for my husband for Thanksgiving and I even liked them! I did mash the sweet potatoes and added a dash of cinnamon as others suggested but this was still a great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Very good! I left off the marshmallows though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I took the advice of another user and mashed up the yams first. Everyone loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a fantastic basic recipe. Wonderful to build upon based on individual tastes. I added a tsp of vanilla, a sprinkle of salt and a decent dusting of cinnamon to the sweet potatoes, butter and brown sugar. I combined them all together in a bowl and then scooped it into a glass Pyrex dish. Definitely add the marshmallows. It adds a great sweet crunch when they're toasted. Spray the foil with Pam before you cover it. That way the marshmallows don't pull off when you remove the foil. Also spray the Pyrex dish with Pam. It helps with cleanup. I quadrupled the recipe so I could add the leftovers to a pie crust and bake into a sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, including draining yams. Pan was too full of liquid though, not sure how to solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My In-Laws had seconds! Here were my modifications: I bought fresh yams and baked them for an hour. Then I sliced them and layered them with butter and a sprinkle of brown sugar in the middle and more brown sugar, cinnamon, butter and marshmallows on the top. (Over all I only used about 1/2 the recommended brown sugar and they were plenty sweet). I think next time I will put some orange juice in as well, the tang would have been a nice complement to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for my office Thanksgiving party and for a dish for Thanksgiving and it was fantastic. The thing I wanted to do was put marshmallows in the center like an oreo cookie but I forgot the butter after I finished the masterpiece. I had to throw back in a bowl and mixed everything together as well as cinnamon throughout the mixture (not just a tsp). After putting back in the pan I topped with another bag (I mixed 1 bag already in mixture) of marshmallows on the top and baked. I turned the temp down to 350 and baked for an hour (I was serving 30) then I removed the foil off and baked for another 10-15 min, My dish was the talk of the office and it was requested by a coworker that was joining me at another coworkers house for Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and used 4 yams sliced and cubed. Steamed them. Then added Cinnamon before putting it in the oven. I hate yams but holy wow these ones were gone in a blink! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I didn't want to use canned yams, as I had fresh ones in my kitchen. Because I was also making sweet potato pie, I boiled them all together with 2 cinnamon sticks and 2 tsp of vanilla, (I was using a big pot). I peeled them after and they were to soft to cube so I mashed them for some texture and mixed in some of the brown sugar and butter, but I topped it with the remaining. All in all it was a hit (: remember to spray the foil before covering, as per another reviewer. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blanca.v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States