Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
The recipe didnt say to drain the sweet potatoes, but I did drain part of the liquid off. My marshmallows didnt toast up and look pretty, but the dish still tasted great!! I liked the fact that the potatoes were in pieces rather than mashed (nice to have different textures at the table) and what syrup I left on them got nice and thick, like a candy syrup. I will be keeping this recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Ridiculously simple to make, and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I quadrupled this recipe for Thanksgiving, using canned sweet potatoes. Two of my kids helped me put it together (ages 4 and 6), and I got RAVE reviews from all my relatives. Thanks for this recipe! (We didn't mind at all that the marshmallows completely melted. It's usually a fight anyway as to who gets the top layer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was so easy and good I'm sure I'll use it for the rest of my life! I did add some vanilla and nutmeg before I baked it and I didn't use marshmellows. Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved these candied yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This is a great recipe! I couldn't find the recipe we used to make at home, and this one was very similar. I used boiled sweet potatoes instead of canned. I also added pineapple rings to the bottom of the baking dish. I plan to use this again next Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I used fresh Yams (microwaved for about 20 minutes then peeled.) EASY AS PIE! And great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMSICKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Simple, Easy and Yummy... (I cooked at 350.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I also made these for Thanksgiving. But i did bake at 350 and covered with foil for 15 mins then I removed the foil and baked until marshmallows melted alittle and turn just alittle brown. I didn't have any problems with mine melting into the yams.They were GREAT !!! This was a big hit with the family. Even with the picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Try adding a little cinnamon to this recipe. It give the yams a little twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Love this recipe! Came out Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: West Columbia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States