Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
You forgot to tell me to drain off the water from the can before I bake.............I thought they would gel in the oven. They were great any way and the girls thought it was cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is how my mom has made these for years. She melts the butter and mixes it with the sweet potato juice, and brown sugar,and adds cinamon. Pours over the sweet potatoes and bakes til hot. Then she adds the marshmallows and ups the temp on the oven to brown them. Same recipe different technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wish you would have noted to drain the yam cans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shastajustin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great Recipe it turned out great for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplymel42
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used a 40 oz can of sweet potatoes(drained), kept the sugar and butter the same, sprinkled with cinnamon between the butter and sugar, and cut large marshmallows in half for this recipe. Covered for the first 15 min. only. The marshmallows didn't melt, but came out perfectly poofy and brown. I will definitely be making this again next Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Drained potatoes and mashed them, then mixed together with brown sugar, sprinkled cinnamon ALL over the sliced butter. Uncover for last 10 minutes to brown marshmallows (and add EXTRA marshmallows than recipe calls for). Delicious!!! This is my go-to sweet potato recipe :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I thought I followed this recipe to the "t" but it came out runny.....it was delicious though, and I will make it again for the next holiday! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was EXACTLY what taste I was looking for. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon after reading others' suggestions. Perfect! I kept it covered until the last 5-10 minutes or so (not sure exactly) and the marshmallows were perfectly lightly browned on top and melty on the bottom. So easy too -I made this ahead the night before and it literally took like 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I did exactly just as the recipe says, the marshmallows melted but didn't brown like the photo. I had to removed the cover minutes before time that is when it brown up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai_Nen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States