Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Thanksgivng this year and it was all eatten within 5 minutes of it being placed on the table. Everyone asked for it to be made again for Christmas and it will be on the table for my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
OK, following everyone's suggestions, I did this: Take 1 40 oz. can AND 1 15 oz. can, thoroughly drain and mash. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar and mix. Sprinkle cinnamon on top. I put several cubes of butter over top. This will fit in an 8x8 dish. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes covered and THEN uncovered with large marshmallows on top for another 10 min. Marshmallows were golden and made lovely crust. Everyone raved about this dish and it was devoured right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This dish is absolutely delicious! The yams just melt in your mouth! I took the advice of other reviewers and added cinnamon along with the brown sugar and also used freshed yams. I let it sit in my fridge for about 5 hours so the flavors could blend before adding marshmallows and sticking it in the oven. I also made sure to spray my aluminum foil with cooking spray so it wouldn't stick to the foil. After the initial 25 minutes of cooking, I took off the foil and added more marshmallows and let it cook uncovered for another 10 minutes. The marshmallows got nice and browned and crispy, tasting like the toasted marshmallows you get over a camp fire. The combination of the marshmallows with the yams was so amazing. The whole thing just melts in your mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Boller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very good, but it was way too long for the marshmallows to be uncovered. They were almost burned in only 15 minutes. I put on some oil-sprayed foil at that point, and it turned out alright. I'm just glad we were watching. Also, the directions don't mention draining the potatoes, but that's what you need to do. I also mashed them a little but not too much. One of my friends said "this is the best thing to ever happen to sweet potatoes" and proceeded to eat 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is a simple, easy recipe, and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I drained the yams and mashed the ingredients in. Adding a light layer of pecans under the marshmellows made this an even better dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Add cinnamon and chopped PECANS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very easy side dish and very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather0715
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made this side dish for Thanksgiving and my husband asked for it again for our Christmas dinner! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
loved it! easy as can be and just as good as other recipes i have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States