Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
cover yams w/ cinnamon before adding marshmallows. make sure totally covered with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used this recipe yesterday and it was a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy recipe. Only thing I recommend would be to puree the yams (I pureed them in a food processor) before placing them in a baking dish. I made them last Thanksgiving without pureeing them and it tasted good, but the consistency/presentation wasn't appealing. So this year I pureed them and there weren't any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleR33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We made this for Thanksgiving day 2011. 12 servings. It was awweessome! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
So easy. So good. I followed other viewers advice about adding vanilla extract, cinnamon and melting the butter for better distribution. Loved it and before this I never really liked candied yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Portia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is always a big hit! Especially since I hated yams until I made this recipe for my husband. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm making.. Oops, I mean troubleshooting.. this recipe right now (on thanksgiving) because no where in this -what should have been really simple- recipe did it say that you should drain the sweet potatoes. So instead of having whats in the picture going to my table, I have what amounts to sugary sweet potato soup heading there. A person shouldn't have to read comments to a recipe, for things that should have been said in the recipe itself. Theres no telling -at all- that it wasn't intended to have all of the liquid, let alone how much liquid from the can should have been drained out in the first place. Also, aside from all that, the marshmallows didn't get brown what-so-ever being covered, so it needed to be put back in the oven any way to brown those. Should have scrapped this idea from the menu all together and given the marshmallows to the kids. This "should be simple" recipe is a complete failure to launch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
such a simple, awesome tasting recipe, but exactly what i needed for a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My husband really enjoys this dish. I drained the yams and added a bit of salt because I use unsalted butter. It really added good flavor. I also uncovered the dish for a bit so that the mellows could brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Other's have stated they did not know to drain the cans, so I was sure to do that, altho the recipe I usually use calls for more liquid. I think the problems people were having with the marshmallows is because the recipe calls to add them at the beginning. I suggest allowing the yams to cook most of the way, about 20 mins and then add the marshmallows with no cover on it. Watch them puff up and get a light golden brown and your done! I also suggest playing around with flavors, cinnamon of course is good, but you can also try adding molasses, orange juice or maple syrup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenarowland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States