Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I loved this recipe and so did everyone else. It is a bit on the sweet side. What I loved about it was it wasn't liquidy. I ususually get a seperate bowl for my sweet potatoes b/c their juicy, but with these I just put them on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
These were yummy! I used 3 large sweet potatoes and instead of baking for boiling them, I microwaved them until finished and then peeled the skin off and cubed them. I also added a cinnamon spice mix to give it some flavor while cooking...I think that made them even better! My husband loved them! I had it as a side dish to "awesome honey pecan prok chops". SO YUMMY! O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Not bad, not bad at all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
These candied sweet potatoes turned out pretty good! It wasn't the easiest recipe because it did not specify how "large" the sweet potatoes had to be, so I eye-balled it since I bought JUMBO sweet potatoes. RESERVE A GOOD AMOUNT OF TIME for this recipe....the sweet potatoes have to boil (or cook depending on which way you do this recipe), the butter, brown sugar, and O.J. have to mix thoroughly. And then the "Candied" process begins...which takes around 20-25 minutes of attention, sturring, and a careful eye. All in all, I like this recipe, I wouldn't give it 5 stars for preparation, probably 4. But 5 out of 5 stars for taste. My family enjoyed it! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This is by far the easiest and yummiest stove top recipe I have ever had for sweet potatoes.. I will never bake sweet potatoes again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Guilderland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I made this recipe for us with a handfull of raisens added and we really liked it. This is what I am taking as a covered dish for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Decided at the last minute Thanksgiving to make this recipe. Didn't have OJ on hand, so I substituted pineapple juice. Added a drizzle of vanilla, and sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Great recipe. Kids loved this. I used a can of sweet potatoes and just mixed in the other ingredients. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This dish is absolutely delicious. My family could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This recipe was easy to make and was very good but, I thought it had a bit of an overbearing OJ taste to it. Still a delicious recipe though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States