Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is the best recipe for Sweet Poatoes I've ever had. Absolutely divine, loved the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Wonderful. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Easy, great tasting, will be using this again. Definitely watch the sweet potatoes, though, when on the stove -- mine turned to mush, so presentation wasn't great, but if you closed your eyes, all you noticed was the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
It took too long to cook over the stove; I ended up putting the yams and sauce into a casserole dish and baking them, with minimal supervision. I occasionally basted the yams with the sauce, so they wouldn't get dried out. They turned out fine; my hubby really liked them. For that classic look, I dropped some marshmallows over the top after I turned off the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
We just finished Christmas Dinner 2005 which included your wonderful recipe. My husband loved them and although I don't eat them, I thought the sauce had a delightful blend of flavors. Thank you for a recipe made from scratch, not can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Made these for Thanksgiving, they were requested for Christmas as well. So easy and sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I liked the potatoes, and do agree that they are not overly sweet, but I thought it was difficult to get the potatoes to the right consistency. My advice: leave them slightly firm before adding them to the sauce. After cooking for 20 more minutes, mine were too soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
These were great tasting sweet potatoes. Just like my mom makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of sweet potatoes but this recipe was really easy and even I thought it was really good. Therefore, it deserves 5 stars. The hint of orange is what did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Fantastic way to prepare sweet potatoes! I've finally found the ticket to getting my picky little one to scarf down an orange vegetable! It took much longer than 20 minutes for me to get the sauce to caramelize, but it was well worth the wait! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States