Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made these yesterday, and I had to eye ball everything because I had to make a Big pan full of them. I cheated and bought the canned yams and drained them. I put the yams in one of those turkey cooking trays and filled it up. I then turned the oven on to 375 and cooked the yams for 25mins while I got the sauce ready. I again had to double up on the sauce, but I used everything. I added just a little spoon full of cornstarch to thinken up the sauce. Once missed well I took out the yams and poured the sauce on them. I covered it with foil and put in back in to cook for about 15 mins, then pulled it out and put little marshmellows on top and put them back in the oven to melt. My husband brought these to work for a pot luck and everyone loved them. It was all gone real fast. *PS* Dont forget to put foil over the yams while they are cooking without the marshmellows on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
AWESOME! Here's my easier version: Buy the fresh precooked sliced yams in the meat section at the grocery. Add butter and brown sugar recommended in recipe, but add corn syrup instead of the OJ. Let simmer 20 minutes. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLAWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Wonderful....Denise loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was a nice change. I boiled the potatoes and stuck them in the fridge to cool. Then several hours later removed the skins, and cooked them accordingly. I think this helped them from becoming too mushy, which inevitably happens towards the end. I didn't adjust anything but did add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My kids have always liked my mothers sweet potatoes which she makes similar to this recipe. However, thanks to this recipe, my sweet potatoes are now favored. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were just like my moms. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
YUM! These turned out great! (Even better than my mom's.) I used canned sweet potatoes/yams. I turned the heat to high the last few minutes to carmelize them. I also added a tad more brown sugar to thicken. They were wonderful and I will make them every year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is the way I remember my grandmother making candied sweet potatoes every Thanksgiving! My husband never had them this way before, and he loved the recipe. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Love them!! Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States