Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've only used fresh sweet potatoes once before for a project in high school. Very easy recipe for someone with no experiance and very tasty for my very picky dad. Probably will use more OJ next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This dish is so delicious! It was EXACTLY what I was looking for! Came out perfect! DEFINITELY WILL be making this again! I gave it 5 stars and completely recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I had bought fresh sweet potatoes and was searching for a recipe that I could use for them. When I found this one I thought it sounded very easy and tasty but I didn't have any OJ! I looked around my kitchen for a substitute and decided to use Diet Root Beer instead. Boy, am I glad I did! I also added some cinnamon and when they were cooked and plated, I threw on a dollop of marshmallow fluff (it melts over the hot potatoes) and YUM! I only gave 4 stars because of the changes I made--but these were delicious!! My boyfriend ate just about the entire pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Got rave reviews at Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is just delicious. Best recipe for sweet potatoes I have tried. Quick and easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
super tasty, two changes , omitted butter and chunked and simmered ( no prebaking) for an hr while preparing dinner! great side to a hearty pork roast! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyghez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These are very light and fresh tasting, with a hint of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were a hit at Thanksgiving & Christmas both. I used the white sweet potatoe the second time around & they turned out great. I cut the OJ in half. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Pretty Good. i actually eliminated the OJ and didn't boil I put them on an electric skillet with the brown sugar and butter on about 200 for 40 mins they got tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a great and easy recipe. There are a lot of inconsistencies with these reviews for a few reasons. Two large yams are aprox 2 lbs., so a large yam may be small to one and considered 'large' to another. The orange juice potency makes a difference too. I've made them twice and had a different outcome with the same measurements. The purer the OJ, the stronger the taste. I prefer the 'concentrate'. Not overbearing. Overall, it is an idiot proof dish. It is a bit mushier than it states - but who cares? It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States