Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was very easy and very good. I read most of the reviews and based on the suggestions, I cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. The next time I make this, I will use the full amount in the recipe rather than cut in half. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this on a whim for Thanksgiving. It was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Yummy! This turned out so tasty. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
By following the changes made by other reviewers, these were easily the best sweet potatoes I have ever had! Much better than the ones in my school cafeteria... These are the changes that I made: 1 cup of butter instead of 1 1/4 and 3/4 cups of brown sugar instead of 1 1/4. Also, because I didn't have each individual spice that the recipe called for, I used some pumpkin pie spice. (I just eyeballed the amount.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving. I shied away from making sweet potatoes because I could never get them sweet enough for my taste. THIS RECIPE is it. I followed it to the "t" it was GREAT!!! Saved to my favorites. It will be made again. THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful dish that was a HUGE success with my very diverse and picky family. I made two alterations: (1) because I'm not a big marshmallow fan I replaced the marshmallows on top with pecans, which provided a nice crunchy texture and cut down on the overall sweetness of the dish (2) just prior to making this dish I realized I didn't have enough fresh sweet potatoes so I used a combination of fresh and canned so I used a can of sweet potatoes (that I broke apart with a fork) to thicken the sauce and then stirred in larger chunks of the fresh sweet potatoes. No one could tell the difference and it was a great way to use up the canned sweet potatoes! I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent, simple recipe. Followed the recipe as listed and topped the dish with chopped pecans before layering with marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a complete hit with my family. Everyone loved it, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Best sweet potatoes ever! Everyone single kid and adult liked them....even one who has hated them for 40 years! Used 1/2 c butter, 3/4 c. brown sugar and maybe 3 lb of potatoes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States