Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is an easy and great tasting receipe. I changed it a little; I used maple syrup instead of brown sugar. I also cut the sweet potatoes in chunks raw, placed them in a buttered covered casserole dish and pour the sauce mixture over them, put them in a 375 degree oven for approx. an hour until the potatoes were done. Less time in the kitchen and less cleanup. Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Yams were very good. I added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the recipe. Next time I will reduce or cut out the orange juice. I found the juice to be a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAELAN55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie View, Texas, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This recipe is great~ I made a few changes to it. I used yams instead of sweet potatoes. The color and the taste of the dish turned out better with yams~ I didn't add the orange juice to it also, so that it can caramelized~ It tasted just as good without the orange juice! I will make this dish again, but next time, I'll add less butter to it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This is almost the same as the one I make every year except I add about 1/4 teas of cinnamon and precook the sweet potatoes then slice and put in the candied sauce. I have made the day before and then put the in the oven to heat while making the gravey. Have been asked many times to bring these to pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was very good - easy and delicious. The orange juice adds a wonderful taste - if you have any doubts, add a little, taste it and decide if you want to add more. I also sliced the potatoes and boiled them with the skin on. After they were tender, I drained the water, let them cool and then cubed the potatoe slices. It is easier to cut cooked sweet potatoes then raw ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Mmmmmm, mmmmmmm good. Everyone asked for seconds~~and for the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for sweet potatoes and very easy. It also works well with pineapple juice instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I love this recipe. My friends and family request I bring this every year for Thanksgiving. It's great because it's easy and you don't need the oven for it. The only thing I change in the recipe is less orange juice. I use about half as much OJ, which seems to be just enough for that extra tang but not enough for it to become overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
These were great! My family does not like the sweet potatoes with marshmallows and even those who do not like sweet potatoes in general (I am one) loved this recipe. I have made this for three family holidays and it has become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Wanted to make something for husband who loves sweetpotatoes. He was raised here in europe so has never had a good 'ol american thanksgiving with candied sweetpotatoes. He fell in love. Teses were easy and delich... will make these again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Moses-Siderer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States