Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is the recipe that I have been look for for years THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haltom City, Texas, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I omitted the orange juice the second time I made this and it was wonderful. I don't think including the orange juice is a bad thing if you can take how overpowering it is over the potatoes. The recipe otherwise is great. Very yummy and simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chipmom30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Way too sweet, and sweet potatoes were mushy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
It was Ok. Not too good. My potatoes turned into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is my favorite side dish with a nice turkey dinner! My family has been making this since before I can remember! We do make it slightly different. 1st we do not add any orange juice, 2nd we do not boil the yams or sweet potatoes. We peel the yams/sweet potatoes, then we slice them into about 1 inch slices. Next we melt the butter then add in the dark brown sugar, then we add in a little cinnamon. Next we let that melt and get bubbly.(on a low setting or it will burn)Now this is were my mom puts in raisins and pecans.(I don't like them so when I make it I don't add them in) Next we add the sliced yams/sweet potatoes to the brown sugar mixture. Then we coat all the yams/sweet potatoes with the mixture, turn it on a low setting, and cover the pot. Keep stirring gently every so often until they are nice and tender. Absolutely delightful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These are delicious. I followed some of other reviewers suggestion and put the potatoes in a 9X13 and baked them, instead of doing the stovetop bit. I also added marshmallows on top. The selling point is the brown sugar, butter, orange juice mixture, though. Love it! Everybody at the Thanksgiving table said these were the best they had ever had. I would have to agree! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Clinton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Excellent, just like mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chippy3799

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Littlethings
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Absolutely LOVE this recipe, no doubt it will be a yearly tradition now. I had boiled the sweet potatoes too long, so it turned out to be "Mashed Candied Sweet potatoes" but I actually think I like it better!! My family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlethings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
very impressed with the flavor enhancement by the OJ. I went for a little healthier aspirations and used honey instead of sugar and olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This recipe was okay. Nothing spectacular. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by younglady23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States