Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Same recipe my Mother made for years and now I make. We would switch it up and add apple cider instead of orange juice. Gives it great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
So simple & amazing! I thought the orange juice would be overpowering but it wasn't at all. Just added a hint of a pleasant "what is that?". I also used the oven variation (in a buttered casserole dish at 375 degrees for about an hour) and I would recommend turning them halfway through. I shouldn't have test run them alone because I ended up eating the whole thing myself! And I'm not sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This classic orange sweet potato recipe has been a family favorite since I was a young child - 53 years ago! It is the best sweet potato recipe I have ever had the honor and privilege of using and eating and since my Mother, 85 now, can no longer make holiday dinners, I am happy to take my turn at making this Holiday tradition. Amen! And Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These turned out great! Like some of the other readers I used a little less OJ since I had NOT from concentrate and it was mentioned it might be too strong, this worked out perfectly! I was concerned there might be too much sauce so I scooped some out and just added a little more at the end. I did end up adding a bit more brown sugar to thicken the sauce up. Also I slightly underboiled the potatoes to keep them from being too mushy and right at the end I turned the heat up almost to high to get a some good carmelization on them and it worked out perfect. I will absolutely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These were so good... I Biled the Swwet Potatoes till done, Mixed1 cup REAL sweetcream Butter, Brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Bledsoe-Baldwin
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I combined this with another recipe adding cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Very good. This is the next best recipe to my mom's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photophenom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
A very simple dish to make and good on flavor. Made this over the Christmas holidays and my family loved it. I loved the tangy flavor of the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States