Candied Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Completely disappointed! I had trouble getting the onions to caramelize even after adding a bit more brown sugar. The salmon was dry and it was like onion covered salmon. Not a hit at our house. We ate a few bites and threw the rest away. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely loved it. I, too reduced both the sugar (used brown) and the vinegar to 1/2 a cup because it seemed like too much sugar. I couldn't keep my hands off it and had eaten my portion before we started dinner...yum yum and then more yum. Woke up and ate some for breakfast the next day too... smiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I was very pleased with how this turn out. Unfortunately I did not have any onions present! Instead I used red pepper and it turned out surprisingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karmazynski

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ohio City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I wasn't so sure about this recipe at first, but my GF thought it would be nice. Glad I listened to her, turned out to be one of my favorite Salmon dishes. A little too much vinegar for me(not a fan of the taste/smell of vinegar) so next time we make it, I think I will either cut down on the Vinegar or increase the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I found this recipe to be very good. The preparation and the cook time was excellent for me and people who have late dinners. My girlfriend who is a Salmon lover but not one for food to be sweet unless it a dessert loved the carmelized onions. I feel this definitely rate a four. The kids want me to make it again lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Yum! I have to admit, I changed the recipe slightly - I used splenda instead of sugar because I'm on low carb diet, but this was delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This recipe had way too much vinegar, it was hard on the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
LOVE it. This isn't a recipe for just anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cool kids
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
The salmon that I used for this recipe was not very good quality and tasted fishy. This sauce was the only thing that could have made it edible (well, my kids smothered it in bbq sauce instead). I think the recipe would be excellent with good quality salmon. I did follow other reviewers' suggestions and only used 1/2 cup vinegar to the full 1 cup of brown sugar. I also did not have fresh onion on hand, so I used @1 frozen diced onion. I'm glad I didn't use the full 3 onions the recipe called for, that would have been too much for us. As for the reviewers who found that the sauce didn't caramelize, I think perhaps caramelize is the wrong word choice (especially if you used the full 1 cup vinegar). I waited until it had reduced by about 50% and then I poured it over the fish. That worked pretty well for us. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States