Candied Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Kind of an involved process, but worth it to give lemon cupcakes that professional-looking finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
So I should clear up a few of the problems here... This was a Christmas favorite when I was a kid. My mother used both orange and lemon peels, and I learned from her. Regarding the bitterness: This comes from the oils in the peel, not from the pith, which is virtually tasteless. To reduce bitterness in the peels, drain off the boiling water, refill with cold water and bring to a boil again. The more you repeat this step, the less bitter it will be. Be careful, though, because too much boiling will render your candy tasteless. 2-3 times is usually enough. Test by tasting. I don't remove the pith; it acts as an absorbent, soaking up the sugar syrup and giving my peels body. For that reason, I use navel oranges or thick-skinned lemons (like the huge ones that grow everywhere in Southern California). I allow the candy to dry out until it's tacky, then toss it with sugar to finish it. (You can use colored and/or flavored sugar too.) This allows me to store it dry in containers without it getting sticky. You can dry it in a cool oven (200 degrees or less) or simply let it sit out for a few hours. Also, try adding finely ground ginger or nutmeg to the sugar (for orange peels). Or dip one end in melted chocolate and let cool (excellent with orange or lemon peels). Or dip one end in thinned royal frosting and let dry (experiment with different flavors). There is no end to the variations that are possible. Let the kids come up with thier own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe!!! After recently baking and frosting lemon cupcakes, I topped each with a couple of candied lemon peels. This is only the second time I've made candied lemon peel--the first time I used a different recipe. These were so easy and beautiful! I think the double boiling made them extra special! Also, I made them in the evening and the next morning I rolled them in sugar. I was planning on saving the leftovers for another use, but I ended up eating all of them! They tasted like lemon drops. I highly recommend using this recipe! They gave my cupcakes a nice look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Followed exactly and came out wonderful. Used others suggestions - peeler and cook in syrup 20 mins. Cut into thin strips first as want to use in baking. Made it soo easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dewdrops
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I followed some of the other reviewers advice and used a potato peeler to strip off only the outer portion of the rind. I also took them right from the boiling syrup mixture and covered them with sugar. I tried one and it made my lips pucker! It tasted awful. I decided to just use them for decoration on my son's cupcakes. To my surprise they tasted great with the sweet buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dewdrops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a lot of work for small results! The flavor is wonderful BUT..a) it is labor intensive and b) no way this cooks for an hour. DO NOT leave the pan unattended! In less than 15 minutes I scorched a pot and smoked up the house and I'm not a novice! Rewind.... start over. This cooks in about 8 minutes. A veggie peeler works best....flat against the edge of a cutting board will get most of the pith off the peel. Finished product is sweet candy and a perfect garnish for a lemon dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very tasty, I'm eager to make more for the holidays. But I did notice one issue with this recipe. Instead of using the water for boiling the peels to make the syrup, you should discard the boiling water and use fresh water for the syrup. Otherwise the bitterness that you just boiled out of the peels will carry over into the syrup. Looking over the reviews, it seems that a few people had that issue. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were adorable adornments for my cupcakes and the taste was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I tried this with one lemon, still following the instructions exactly. It didn't work, as the syrup burned a little even though the peel was still bright yellow. It tasted pretty good, although I would not recommend it with less than three lemons. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Amazing. I had never made candied peel before. And I sooo loved this. I did just as another viewer did, snagged a few pieces everything I walked by...but did give me a sugar high...but mmmm!!!. Now all the photos I saw and some suggestions said to toss the peels in sugar when drying and I totally did that. I also increased the batch by a half more with the water and sugar because I used 3 lemons and 4 oranges. And it totally worked out great. It dried in no time at all. And I'm totally impressed. I used the candied peel to decorate a cheesecake and used the simple syrup and made a glaze by adding some powdered sugar a little milk, a little yellow food coloring and a bit more lemon extract to give the simple syrup a kick because it was mild in flavor. And it was so yummy. This is a totally keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States