Candied Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is great...I will be doing some that have some spices added and dipped in chocolate as Christmas Gifts. Its a baking year....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhowgo
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I thought these were going to be harder to make than they were. I felt like a fancy chef and all I did was essentially boil lemon peels and coat them with sugar. I'm totally making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhowgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Larimore, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I've used orange peel instead of lemon and they turned out perfect. I left them out to dry before putting them in a container; the portion I used in a recipe for stollen softened very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Maybe it's just me, but this recipe takes way longer than what it says. I used orange instead of lemon and like so many other reviewers, I left the pith to give it some substance. I'm going on 4 hours and it's STILL not translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
DO NOT REMOVE THE SOFT WHITE PART!! No wonder your candy was bitter! The white soaks up lots of sugar, and is the best part in my opinion. Try using a thick-skinned citrus, as one reviewer suggests. It will come out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
If you have ever eaten commercial candied fruit peel, you will notice that they do not remove the pith! Do like several others suggested and blanch the peel in fresh water at least twice, for 10 minutes each time. This removes the bitterness and tenderizes the peel. When it's done enough, a toothpick should easily pierce the peel. Then make the the syrup with fresh water and boil for 5 minutes. Add peels and simmer 15 to 20 minutes or until translucent. Drain and let dry several hours before rolling in sugar to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe very easy to use. I took the advice of some other reviewers and used a potato peeler to get my rind. I used both lemon and orange. Followed the directions as stated then let my pieces dry on waxed paper for a good 10 hours before tossing them in additional sugar to give it a nice dusting. The additional sugar gets rid of the remaining tackiness from the syrup and looks very pretty. These pieces will be adorning some citrus chiffon cupcakes I am baking in a baking contest today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was delish! I followed the others advice and left the pith on, it wasn't bitter at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I WAS SURPRISED THAT THIS SIMPLE RECIPE WAS YUM-O...I USED SLICED CLEMENTINES...THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This recipe worked beautifully, even with lemons with very thing peels. I boiled the peels for about 15 minutes the first time, though, as I wasn't certain that they were tender. The syrup is also quite delicious. Thank you very much for submitting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States