Candied Lemon Peel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I've used orange peel instead of lemon and they turned out perfect. I left them out to dry before putting them in a container; the portion I used in a recipe for stollen softened very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Maybe it's just me, but this recipe takes way longer than what it says. I used orange instead of lemon and like so many other reviewers, I left the pith to give it some substance. I'm going on 4 hours and it's STILL not translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
DO NOT REMOVE THE SOFT WHITE PART!! No wonder your candy was bitter! The white soaks up lots of sugar, and is the best part in my opinion. Try using a thick-skinned citrus, as one reviewer suggests. It will come out much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
If you have ever eaten commercial candied fruit peel, you will notice that they do not remove the pith! Do like several others suggested and blanch the peel in fresh water at least twice, for 10 minutes each time. This removes the bitterness and tenderizes the peel. When it's done enough, a toothpick should easily pierce the peel. Then make the the syrup with fresh water and boil for 5 minutes. Add peels and simmer 15 to 20 minutes or until translucent. Drain and let dry several hours before rolling in sugar to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe very easy to use. I took the advice of some other reviewers and used a potato peeler to get my rind. I used both lemon and orange. Followed the directions as stated then let my pieces dry on waxed paper for a good 10 hours before tossing them in additional sugar to give it a nice dusting. The additional sugar gets rid of the remaining tackiness from the syrup and looks very pretty. These pieces will be adorning some citrus chiffon cupcakes I am baking in a baking contest today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was delish! I followed the others advice and left the pith on, it wasn't bitter at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I WAS SURPRISED THAT THIS SIMPLE RECIPE WAS YUM-O...I USED SLICED CLEMENTINES...THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This recipe worked beautifully, even with lemons with very thing peels. I boiled the peels for about 15 minutes the first time, though, as I wasn't certain that they were tender. The syrup is also quite delicious. Thank you very much for submitting a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Kind of an involved process, but worth it to give lemon cupcakes that professional-looking finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
So I should clear up a few of the problems here... This was a Christmas favorite when I was a kid. My mother used both orange and lemon peels, and I learned from her. Regarding the bitterness: This comes from the oils in the peel, not from the pith, which is virtually tasteless. To reduce bitterness in the peels, drain off the boiling water, refill with cold water and bring to a boil again. The more you repeat this step, the less bitter it will be. Be careful, though, because too much boiling will render your candy tasteless. 2-3 times is usually enough. Test by tasting. I don't remove the pith; it acts as an absorbent, soaking up the sugar syrup and giving my peels body. For that reason, I use navel oranges or thick-skinned lemons (like the huge ones that grow everywhere in Southern California). I allow the candy to dry out until it's tacky, then toss it with sugar to finish it. (You can use colored and/or flavored sugar too.) This allows me to store it dry in containers without it getting sticky. You can dry it in a cool oven (200 degrees or less) or simply let it sit out for a few hours. Also, try adding finely ground ginger or nutmeg to the sugar (for orange peels). Or dip one end in melted chocolate and let cool (excellent with orange or lemon peels). Or dip one end in thinned royal frosting and let dry (experiment with different flavors). There is no end to the variations that are possible. Let the kids come up with thier own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States